BABY Driver (or Don’t Slow Down, BABY!) – HM Movie Reviews

Hey, something I haven’t done in a while!! OK, I did say that movie reviews may not be as frequent here and to be honest, I haven’t checked out much movies this year (in theaters) with some few exceptions like Get Out, Wonder Woman, John Wick…..and yeah, I liked all of those but I just saw those on my own time.

Anyway, I’ve decided to check out the latest from director Edgar Wright, the mastermind behind the Cornetto Trilogy and Scott Pilgrim vs. The World aka the movie you love that you didn’t see or support in theaters and yes, I know, after the whole Ant-Man debacle, we wonder what he’s going to do next. Lo and behold, we got Baby Driver.

Image result

Talented getaway driver Baby (Ansel Elgort) relies on the beat of his personal soundtrack to be the best in the game. After meeting the woman (Lily James) of his dreams, he sees a chance to ditch his shady lifestyle and make a clean break. Coerced into working for a crime boss (Kevin Spacey), Baby must face the music as a doomed heist threatens his life, love and freedom.

OK, I’m definitely cutting to the CHASE. HOLY SHIT, THIS MOVIE IS AWESOME!!! This is definitely a stylish visual treat with some crafty writing into it, especially explaining the character of Baby and honestly, I dug the hell out of his character and the reasoning for him wearing headphones and listening to music is quite concrete and more messed up once the movie simmers in your mind.  Yes, I know this is one of those heist movies where the guy wants to move on from that life and does one last job but suddenly gets pulled back there but guess what? If you can make it at least entertaining with enough style and have a endearing main character who has a charming love side story with Debora, a good relationship with his deaf black foster father (and I definitely like those moments) with these cool moments of slick action in between, you made a damn good movie.

Acting across the board is phenomenal from everyone in the cast and I definitely think that Ansel Engort has the strongest performance in here as Baby, as someone who isn’t the most talkative person in these heists and have a soundtrack a part of his daily life and records a lot of the conversations and mixed them into tracks of his own. Hell, the music in here is a character in the movie itself as the way its used is fascinating and definitely fits into the situation of what’s happening. It makes me want to search those songs out and luckily they have the soundtrack of those songs in there, including the new cut from Danger Mouse, Run The Jewels and Big Boi (which is fucking amazing, BTW). Kevin Spacey, Jamie Foxx, Lily James in here was good to great and I definitely like Jon Hamm in here and what goes on with his character Buddy and his wife Darling, played by Eiza Gonzalez.

But yeah, that’s all I can say. If you want to see something more different in theaters, then Baby Driver is that movie and I’m glad to know that this is enjoying some success right now, earning back its budget and being the biggest American debut in Wright’s career. Definitely go see this and give him your support.

Image result for 10/10

I’m MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid and……you know what? I’m sticking to playing my mp3 with the aux cord.

BABY DRIVER – courtesy of Sony/TriStar Pictures/MRC/Working Title

One thought on “BABY Driver (or Don’t Slow Down, BABY!) – HM Movie Reviews

Leave a Reply

