Anime Discovery – TIME OF THE SEASON Spring 2017 Wrap-up

Last year, I was ecstatic over how good the spring season of anime was and said that it was the best season I have covered since doing this.

This year…… OK, it’s not back to being horrible but there was a lot of drastic changes made over this season. First off being that most of the upcoming shows for that season went to Anime Strike. You know, that service that has a double paywall subscription and I have said that 12 shows (mainly 10 exclusives) landed there and as someone that actually did tried that free week trial…..Yeah, I’m both pissed and satisfied. I’m satisfied that out of the 12 shows in there, I watched 6 and find 4 that I instantly like and love (1 is fine and the other is crap) and I’m pissed because going through that isn’t worth getting the service at all.

As for the non-Anime Strike shows……well, the usual stuff I found good at first turned out to be good, some mid-tier stuff I actually ended up liking at the end and yet the bad stuff is….well, that. But the thing is…there wasn’t a title I found to be irredeemably horrible but just plain bad and boring. Like the lowest grade on here is a 4 and there’s even a few shows that I thought were bad at first but just very mediocre.

Hey, it means you’re not on the shit list. I just won’t think of you that much.

Oh and in case you miss some things, My Hero Academia s2, Re:Creators, Rage of Bahamut: Virgin Soul and Sakura Quest are omitted in this list as they are still continuing their run and I’m happily to report that MHA, R:C and RoB:VS are definitely in my top rankings so far.

Sakura Quest on the other hand……well, it’s not bad but I’m not fawning over it like so many people.

Now then……

THE SILVER GUARDIAN // animated by EMON // streaming on CR/FUNi

Wow this ended up being…..actually OK. I admit I thought it was going to be a dumpster fire considering the same animation team worked on Bloodivores but it’s quite serviceable and the fact that it’s 13 minutes an episode meant that it doesn’t overstay its welcome and the whole video game adventure thing does get stale near the end. Overall, at least you didn’t suck. (6/10 – OK.)

ATTACK ON TITAN SEASON 2 // animated by STUDIO WIT // streaming on FUNi/CR

OK, you know what? This being 12 episodes actually worked out better than I thought but then I wasn’t complaining about the season being so short because this is one action-packed tense-filled season that AoT has brought us. We still got the gut-wrenching moments, terrifying titan designs that put the fear in us and I like how much a spotlight we get on supporting characters this time around like Sasha, Connie, Christa, Ymir, and even Hange got some serious moments that makes her stand out more than just the crazy scientist lady and not to mention, so many moments that are very spoiler-iffic and has you wondering over what’s going to come next….oh and yes, there will be a Season 3. Keep on the good work, Studio WIT. Hell, I actually like it’s just 12 episodes because it cuts the filler bullshit. (8.5/10 – Low FIRST CLASS)

GRANBLUE FANTASY THE ANIMATION // animated by A-1 PICTURES // licensed by ANIPLEX OF AMERICA

OK, I talk about this before the spring season came and said that other shows might get more attention than this….and yeah, that did happen. I mean, I know it sold well over in Japan but this is just some average high fantasy anime with their stock characters and fights and FRIENDSHIP and mysterious places with some quests and all that shit. Honestly, it’s not terrible but this is so…..dull and basic of a show. (5/10 – VANILLA)

TSUGUMOMO // animated by ZERO-G // streaming on CR/FUNi


Again, I thought I was going to be annoyed by this show due to most of its humor being akin to most harem shows and thankfully it wasn’t that. Instead it’s some throwback to those early 2000s-era rom-com anime with some fantasy and harem elements in there yet the fantasy elements can get a bit interesting but some of the interactions with characters between Kazuya and Kirika or any of the girls here is cringeworthy at best and inches to that harem comedy that I find appalling yet it was only the first half of this and the rest ended up being half-decent. I won’t highly recommend it but for some rom-com fans, it’s worth a try. (5.5/10 – High VANILLA)

AKASHIC RECORDS OF BASTARD MAGICAL INSTRUCTOR // animated by LIDEN FILMS // streaming on CR/FUNiImage result for akashic records of bastard magic instructor

OK, first 3 episodes, I thought this shit was just going to be your typical magical high school anime based off a light novel only with a twist being the instructor is our main lead and he was an asshole….further into this show and to be honest, this wasn’t that bad…..it was just so damn boring!! The show’s content with in and out of my conscious every time I watched an episode and there’s a lot that I really, really don’t care about from the plot, its indistinguishable characters and overall weak presentation. This was a major bore to sit through. Skip this! (4.5/10 – AN ACQUIRED TASTE)

ARMED GIRLS’ MACHIVAELLISM // animated by SILVER LINK // streaming on AMAZON ANIME STRIKE // licensed by SENTAI FILMWORKS

Image result for armed girl's machiavellism

Now we get to the Sentai Anime Strike-exclusive shows and this one……oi. You know what? They can keep this shit because this is just bad, bad, bad. It’s either the goofy-ass shit with this main guy coming to a school where girls kick your ass and then later on, it gets so ultra-serious. I don’t get it. It’s not even stupid bad fun, just the former two and one that has such a forgettable….well, everything about it from the plot, the characters, the tragic backstory of who gives a fuck and even the opening and ending songs. Again, skip this! (4/10 – Low AN ACQUIRED TASTE)

CLOCKWORK PLANET // animated by XEBEC // streaming on CR/FUNi

Did I just come from 2006 or 2007? Because watching this anime (or attempting to watch it) felt it that way and all this spells out is generic sci-fi show with some apocalyptic futuristic shit to it and the main male lead got a magical robot girlfriend and some other annoying teenage girl….yeah, this is another “I sleepwalk through this shit because I couldn’t care less about it” because honestly I got bored watching this. Oh, and finding out the original creator of this also did No Game No Life….Oh, wow, granted this show isn’t that ugly as that show but it’s just as bad as that one, too. (3.5/10 – NOT FEELING THIS)

LOVE TYRANT // animated by EMT SQUARED // streaming on CR/FUNi

Image result for love tyrant anime

So……I’m a bit of a quandary at this show as at first, I thought this shit was kinda stupid and repetitive and then later episodes, I find myself being amused and really into the mix of this. The characters do play their parody roles justice although Guri and Yuzu are annoying time to time and I really don’t care about the bullshit with what Akua is going through. Akane and Shikimi are crazy-ass girls, enough said and Seiji….damn, he needs a break. Everything else about the show is fine. I wouldn’t mind watching it again and I am in English dub, so there’s that. Yeah, I’m fine with this (7/10 – High OK)

SAEKANO: HOW TO RAISE A BORING GIRLFRIEND flat // animated by A-1 PICTURES // streaming on AMAZON ANIME STRIKE

Image result for saekano season 2

So, the sequel to a show that no one thought would get a 2nd season and it’s not just us saying that. The show said that shit as well and hey, I’m talking about a noitaminA show for once since….well, last Spring season and basically on this show and if you have seen the first season of this, you know what you are getting into and….yeah, that’s it. You get a lot of anime meta shit, drama around the main girls and of course, their episode 0 aka their fan service episode. Also, I want to say two things:
1) did y’all make a Community reference in episode 0?
2) did the composer listen to Bill Withers that one time? You’ll know. But yes, this is substantial. (6/10 – Low OK)

BERSERK (2017) // animated by MILLEPENSEE // streaming on CR/FUNi

I’m basically going to say what I did last time that….yeah, this is watchable. At least, the story is but the animation and art style still looks like an awkward CG mess. It’s not enough to turn me off the series but I wouldn’t be quick to give a rewatch of it. (7/10 – High OK)

KADO: THE RIGHT ANSWER // animated by TOEI ANIMATION // streaming on CR/FUNi

So this is mostly the anime version of any big cable network sci-fi serial series all what I have watched. Yes, the show is good and does have some great dialogue and storytelling although I really don’t see myself revisit this as much and I did find myself to not be all that invested in the story even though I wanted to be. Still, the show is moderately decent. (7/10 – High OK)

ALICE & ZOUROKU // animated by J.C. STAFF // streaming on CR/FUNi

This show, however……is so damn good. It is the right amount of being sincerely sweet and emotional along with it having a lot of interesting action and plot although that CG car chase scene…..yikes. I dig the relationship between our two leads like a daughter/grandfather type and the imagination and scope of this show is visually impressive. It’s cute with some edge in it without one or the other being overbearing. Oh yeah, I also loved that opening theme. (8/10 – Solid B.)

WORLDEND (aka SUKASUKA) // animated by SATELIGHT // streaming on CR/FUNi


So…..I went into this not having the highest of hopes and thinking it’s just going to be another slice-of-life masquerading as a high fantasy and everyone is going to praise this but me and….well, that didn’t happen. For one, as meh as I thought this was, I would watch this over Grimgar any day of the week as the characters are actually….well, they don’t make me groan every time they appear although the main lead guy is about as charismatic as a bowl of chili that lost its heat and intensity. But for what it was, it is passable. Also fuck long-ass LN TITLES! (6/10 – Low OK)

KENKA BANCHOU OTOME: GIRL BEATS BOYS // animated by PROJECT No. 9 // streaming on CR/FUNi

Well, this was fun. It’s basically like a fighter game on story mode and definitely something I can see both men and women alike getting a grasp on. Yeah, that’s all I got. It’s as short as the episode time length. (6.5/10 – OK.)

ATOM THE BEGINNING // animation by OLM/PRODUCTION I.G./SIGNAL M.D. // streaming on AMAZON ANIME STRIKE // licensed by SENTAI FILMWORKS

Image result for atom the beginning

Once again, another Anime Strike show here and I’m here to say….I’m pleased and pissed…..because this show is so damn good and the fact its Anime Strike exclusive really depresses me. Anyway, this prequel to Astro Boy does have that genuine feel of a Tezuka anime from the look, the animation, the character designs that got big-ass noses and all the wonderment and action from here. Hell, I’m glad I stumbled upon this. (8/10 – Solid B.)

GRIMOIRE OF ZERO // animation by WHITE FOX // streaming on AMAZON ANIME STRIKE // licensed by SENTAI FILMWORKS

Image result for grimoire of zero

I have noticed how mixed to positive reception this show has been getting and let me just say….I FUCKING LOVE THIS SHOW!!! Finally, a high fantasy adventure anime that doesn’t leave me bored halfway and has characters that I can be invested in and can like, especially Mercenary and Zero, who really shares a lot of chemistry on-screen. I know some people that are mixed have said that it’s generic in some parts and while it is, it still does it better and more entertaining than those that think they tried. Really loved this show and I’m glad to say that this is one of the best shows of the season. (9/10 – FIRST CLASS)

And now…..ranking time, bitches!!

  1. RE:CREATORS
  2. INTERVIEWS WITH MONSTER GIRLS
  3. MY HERO ACADEMIA (SEASON 2)
  4. RAGE OF BAHAMUT: VIRGIN SOUL
  5. GRIMOIRE OF ZERO
  6. MISS KOBAYASHI’S DRAGON MAID
  7. ATTACK ON TITAN (SEASON 2)
  8. ALICE & ZOUROKU
  9. ATOM: THE BEGINNING
  10. ACCA:13 – TERRITORY INSPECTION DEPT.
  11. AKIBA’S TRIP THE ANIMATION
  12. LOVE TYRANT
  13. KADO: THE RIGHT ANSWER
  14. KORO-SENSEI QUEST!
  15. NANBAKA (2ND SEASON)
  16. BERSERK (2017)
  17. THE SILVER GUARDIAN
  18. BLUE EXORCIST KYOTO SAGA
  19. KENKA BANCHOU OTOME: GIRL BEATS BOYS
  20. SAEKANO: HOW TO RAISE A BORING GIRLFRIEND flat
  21. SAKURA QUEST
  22. FUUKA
  23. SAGA OF TANYA THE EVIL
  24. WORLDEND
  25. SEIREN
  26. GRANBLUE FANTASY THE ANIMATION
  27. TSUGUMOMO
  28. ARMED GIRL’S MACHIAVELLISM
  29. AKASHIC RECORDS OF BASTARD MAGICAL INSTRUCTOR
  30. CLOCKWORK PLANET
  31. MASAMUNE-KUN’S REVENGE
  32. HAND SHAKERS

And that was the Spring season of anime!!! Maybe not as good as last year but hey, it’s still got some good shows in there, despite some of them are on Anime Strike and speaking of that…for next season, if you’re looking forward to that Welcome to the Ballroom anime…..well, take a guess on who got it.

Oh, and this ranking is going to change in a week or so because LITTLE WITCH ACADEMIA is finally going to air on Netflix and I’m definitely on that shit first thing…..or at least after I get off work.

Also, summer season looks very, very, very weak and now with Anime Strike being a major player, the shows you might be interested in could be under their paywall and honestly, I see no specific show here that I’m looking forward to. I’m just picking any random shows to take a look at and….that’s it.

I’m MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid and beware…….just beware. I don’t know. I’m passed out right now.

Leave a Reply

