(Hy)Lights #44 – Marvel’s IRON FIST

Ahhh, here we are…..the very last MCU/Netflix show before we get to the big team-up that is The Defenders and again, we got another unknown character that gets their time on the screen and this time around, it is Iron Fist.

The beginnings of this character is he is created by Roy Thomas and Gil Kane and first appeared in Marvel Premiere #15 and of course, his actual government name is Daniel “Danny” Rand and he is a martial arts practitioner and a wielder of the mystical force known as the Iron Fist and that allows him to summon and focus on his chi. He got a solo series along with teaming up with Luke Cage forming Heroes for Hire.

And as usual, this was originally had been in film development since 2000 with the project originally going to be co-financed Artisan Entertainment (remember that studio?) with Ray Park to star and yeah, you can see how that went.

NOW THE PREMISE!! Danny Rand returns to New York City after being missing for years after the plane crash that killed his family, trying to reconnect with his past and his family legacy. He fights against the criminal element corrupting his world around him with his incredible kung-fu mastery and ability to summon the awesome power of the fiery Iron Fist.

Welp, better get this out of the way right now. Prior to the show premiering on Netflix, it was getting critically savaged with a reported 17% on Rotten Tomatoes and Finn Jones, the actor who plays the title character, gets into the whole spiel of “it’s make for the fans” and all that bullshit.

OK, maybe 17% on RT is a bit overreacting but I don’t blame them for that because….wow…….this show is dull as shit and it did not leaving me as excited or hyped as the previous Marvel/Netflix shows. Example: I’m writing this on a Tuesday and usually for the past few series (at least the first seasons), I write them immediately after I finish the series and that could be on a Saturday or even a Sunday. I couldn’t even straight binge the show when it started as it felt like a chore to watch and it never hooked me into wanting to watch the whole thing.

The first few episodes was a big big of meh-ness all around. All I got from Danny Rand as a character is basic, generic identity crisis-type that often acts like a moron you want to slap upside his head and I never sense any urgency to give much of a shit and I don’t even hate the character and I don’t know much about Finn Jones as an actor (BTW. no, I don’t watch Game of Thrones) but considering this is my introduction to him, I’m not sold of it. I never felt any sensibility or charm out of him but then again, he’s not that bad compared to the other players…..in particular, I did not like Tom Pelphrey as Ward Meachum and it’s not just because I find the character grating and unsympathetic but god, he was a dry and stiff presence throughout. I don’t care about his daddy issues with his ‘supposed’ late father or him going through some crazy shit later on. He is not worth a damn and the guy playing Naruto….I mean Boruto–DAMN IT, I mean Bakuto, is the same guy that played that douche-bag friend from Transformers 2. Yes, that guy and no, he was the worst of them all. He definitely sucked in his role.

Now, not everybody sucked in here. No surprise, I liked Jessica Henwick as Colleen Wing and she is a definite bad-ass character I definitely want to follow more than our lead character and actually got a compelling story worth more investing in. Yes, Rosario Dawson returns as Claire Temple and as much as she felt shoe-horned in here, I still welcome her presence here than anyone else in here and Carrie Anne-Moss returns as Jeri Hogarth from Jessica Jones and she definitely nailed it here.

The biggest crime this show did here is that…..the action scenes are limp and lackluster. I mean the fight scenes felt like it happened and that’s it. Yes, I know Jessica Jones and Luke Cage‘s action isn’t really all that special compared to Daredevil but this is A MARTIAL ARTS SHOW!!! I thought we might get some kick-ass scenes from this but fuck it, they came and went poof and gone. Also, why the board meetings? They are not that crucial or important.

Then I looked up the showrunner and it was Scott Buck, the guy that run Dexter for a few seasons. That’s fine as I like the show Dexter but it was the seasons after the 4th one he was the showrunner and oh god, it shows and it doesn’t pick up after the 6th episode and funny thing about that episode…..The RZA (yes, you heard me, that one, IRON FISTS) directed episode 6 of this and yeah, this was weird for me to take it all in. Also, there is a lot of weird music cues in here and yeah, I get the character is a hip-hop fan and yes, I love artists like Outkast, Run the Jewels, and Anderson. Paak but they really don’t fit all that much in here. In some cases, maybe but it felt like it was just added in there. Also, the main theme for the show felt like something you hear out of some video game menu of any action/tech game.

 

FINAL VERDICT: Iron Fist isn’t by all means a terrible show but it is just an average and bland superhero series that could’ve gotten some potential but it ends up being flat and unimpressive. Yeah, I know Jones and Cage got their flaws and all but at least they still got me into the story and got enough charm to forgive that and yet Fist doesn’t have half of that with its meandering pacing, tedious action scenes and a mediocre lead with a few interesting characters and some forgettable ones. This is easily the worst of the 4 MCU/Netflix shows and yet I don’t want to give this a recommendation but it’s only for continuity sake when the Defenders come. Other than that, not worth a re-watch.

Yeah, this fist has rusted and turn into a….

Image result for 5/10

VANILLA

 

Welp, I just hope the Defenders won’t suck and since that’s only 8 episodes as supposed to 13….there could be hope.

I’m MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid and y’all actually find a way to make a plane crash seem unintentionally funny instead of heart-breaking.

 

MARVEL’S IRON FIST – courtesy of ABC Studios / Marvel Television

Leave a Reply

