Anime Discovery and Time of the Season presents: THE BEST ANIME OF 2016!

Hmmm….. you know, going back to this list and I have to say while I do think there was some great anime that came out in 2016, there hasn’t been that one anime that personally got me head over heels in love with it. I mean, yeah, there’s been good shows I actually like to the fullest but I didn’t find another anime that got to me like a One Punch Man or a Kill La Kill or a Space Dandy this year.

In other words, no show this year got a 10 from yours truly and no, I don’t give those out constantly but a 10 from me means that this is a show I want to remember for the rest of my life and one that I would recommend to many people and pass on to friends and all that.

However, despite that, I have rated a lot of shows that were 8 or higher on my list that I had to make a lot of cuts on here. In other words, I choose 5 shows outside of the top 10 to be on my honorable mention list and some of you are going to be surprised on what’s on here and what isn’t…..although some of you will look at me and wonder “you chose this over this!?”

Yeah……let’s get on to the Honorable Mentions:

MY WIFE IS THE STUDENT COUNCIL PRESIDENT!+! // 12 eps // SEVEN // CRUNCHYROLL

This is a complete surprise from me watching this…..an ecchi show that can actually be charming and mostly funny for the part being and lewd…..very, very lewd but it actually fits within the context of the show and doesn’t get aggravating. The same can also be said for its characters (its humorous and delightful characters) and the episodes are 8-minutes long, so this can be easily watched in over a few hours.

RE:ZERO – STARTING LIFE IN ANOTHER WORLD // 25 eps // WHITE FOX // CRUNCHYROLL

I say this before and I’ll say it again…..this show is what SAO and Grimgar should’ve been: a video game anime that has the ultimate feel of a video game and actually puts plenty of high stakes to the characters and situations, especially when you try to make sure you don’t relive those same mistakes over and over again and it also helps that the characters are compelling in both their victories, losses, and what level of madness will be upon them. Yeah, it’s something I had to binge in the Fall but damn, this is definitely a highlight.

SWEETNESS AND LIGHTNING // 12 eps // TMS ENTERTAINMENT // CRUNCHYROLL


One of the summer’s most engaging anime is this genuinely sweet slice-of-life about single father Kohei and his daughter Tsumugi just going through everyday life. Whether they are bonding with each other, cooking along with other people in the mix or when the late mother is brought up….this is the type of anime we need right now, especially in a year where everything terrible has happened, this is a reminder that some things can be good and innocent in our eyes.

ERASED // 12 eps // A-1 PICTURES // ANIPLEX OF AMERICA

Behold the only good A-1 Pictures show this year!!! Well, this and that Shelter music video are the only good things that company has made this year but anyway, one of the first compelling and hyped-up anime of the Winter season that actually managed to be good all the way through and yes, I liked the ending of this. Great drama, intense mystery and some great character moments, especially one moment that actually got nominated for CR Anime Award….and yes, that moment is more important than a fucking kiss IMO.

KIZNAIVER // 12 eps // TRIGGER // ANIPLEX OF AMERICA

HA-HA! You DAMN RIGHT I’m putting this show on a list somewhere!! Yeah, yeah, I know this show has some mixed reactions to most people and some either loved or hated it and I……actually liked it. Now, I don’t think it’s the best Trigger has done but at least they managed to do something outside of their usual type of show and this time one that wasn’t so meh (unlike that Supernatural Battle show) and guess what? I actually liked…the majority of these characters and the weird shit that keep happening in this show is the reason why it worked and yet people said Trigger were done after this. We’ll get to that soon.

And now the nitty gritty……the moment you’ve been waiting for…..the TOP 10 begins…….

10. SNOW WHITE WITH THE RED HAIR (2nd COUR) // 12 eps // BONES // FUNIMATION

Shirayuki, Zen and company return for this 2nd cour and things amp up even more than the first season with her being kidnapped and of course, the whole Obi/Shirayuki/Zen love triangle thing, which was the least interesting aspect of the show for me but everything else from the kidnapping episode to seeing what’s going on with Shirayuki and Zen’s relationship. Everything from the romance, the character writing and drama is still as great as it was and definitely something for the whole family to enjoy.

9. MOB PSYCHO 100 // 12 eps // BONES // CRUNCHYROLL/FUNIMATION


So, the latest anime adaptation from the creator of One Punch Man has arrived in the summer this year and while I wasn’t as high as the end like OPM, this show still turned out pretty good with this being more of the supernatural/slice-of-life vibe in here and I got to admit, watching this the second time in the English dub (from Bang Zoom, btw, which surprised me) and yeah, I’m really loving it more the second time. Plus, the dub is good so far.

8. KEIJO!!!!!!!!! // 12 eps // XEBEC / CRUNCHYROLL/FUNIMATION

Another surprise this year and yes, this is the anime where girls play a game of beating the shit out of each other with their tits and ass……and yet watching it doesn’t feel like some pandering, trying too hard to be sexy type of bullshit. The levels of sheer ridiculousness and outrageous moments of those fights actually made this enjoyable and fun to watch. It also helps that the characters are fun and likable to watch and it actually uses fan service in a natural, organic way. It never felt forced or crammed in there to appeal to teenagers, it’s actually a damn good show.

7. YURI!!! ON ICE // 12 eps // MAPPA // CRUNCHYROLL/FUNIMATION

One of the biggest shows not only in the fall, but of the year and I know this is going to be on a lot of lists, especially this landing in #1 in some people’s spots and I do see why. From the great animation from MAPPA in the ice-skating sequences to the relationship of Yuri and Victor and seeing how’s it portrayed there and it felt honest and candid without fetishizing the whole thing……considering it was going to be that anyway from the fan fiction and possible Tumblr art. Still tho, this is truly a fantastic show and it was born to MAKE HISTORY alright.

6. DURARARA!!X2 KETSU // 12 eps // SHUKA // ANIPLEX OF AMERICA

The final chapter to the 3-part Durarara sequel series and man, this shit ended on a big, high note as it should be and this is just one big exciting story with all these colorful and entertaining characters in the city of Ikebukuro. I know love to say that Baccano (the other creator’s work) was the superior version of this but to be honest…..I like this more than Baccano and it’s not because of this got more episodes than that. I just find it more entertaining to me.

5. ASSASSINATION CLASSROOM (SEASON 2) // 25 eps // LERCHE // FUNIMATION
So at first, I thought this wasn’t going to be on top list like the first season but this season proved itself this show stepped up BIG in everything as graduation draws near and whether if Koro-Sensei is getting exterminated or the end of the world is coming. I meant that when everything stepped up in Season 2 from the various traps set to capture Koro-Sensei, to knowing more about his past and especially one of the students that actually got a secret of their own and even the heart-felt emotion of everything and it is such a wonderful way how they end the series. They wasn’t a dry eye on Anitwitter that day.

4. MARCH COMES IN LIKE A LION // 23 eps // SHAFT // ANIPLEX OF AMERICA So I ended up liking a show from SHAFT this year. Doing this blog for the past few years really got me soured on the studio as it felt like the samey artsy yet dull or infuriating (in the case of Nisekoi) but here…..this is calming with a hint of drama that doesn’t distract the flow of anything, the story and characters are relatable and worth being invested with the slow pace and all. Also, one of the few times that a slow pace helps the series more than hurts it. While at the time of this writing, the show is still airing but you know how I do on here. I recognize this show as one underrated gem that got hidden from most anime fans and I hope in 2017, people can see the beauty of this show as I do.

3. MY HERO ACADEMIA // 12 eps // BONES / FUNIMATION

I know that FUNimation spent a lot of money on licensing this anime in the States and it was worth every penny because this show is fucking excellent and while this is short (with more episodes coming in 2017, baby!!), this was one of the best shows of the spring season with fun characters (even if I felt like Bakugo can get his ass kicked all day), great action and BONES doing the damn thing in providing some great animation.

2. SPACE PATROL LULUCO // 13 eps // TRIGGER / CRUNCHYROLL

People going around saying Trigger failed with Kiznaiver, which is the stupidest statement I heard this year, and saying they’ve fall off…..Um, you forgot they have another show in the same Spring season and guess what? THEY DID THE DAMN THING! An 13 episode series, which each episode running time is 8 minutes, does an excellent job in being an energetic, crazy, and exciting series than most comedy anime did in the regular 22-minute format. There is a lot of this show to love from Luluco, who is such an adorable cinnamon roll of a character to how this show connects with a lot of the other Trigger shows like some sort of……universe. *wink wink* No, really, hints of Kill La Kill, Inferno Cop, Ninja Slayer, Little Witch Academia (BTW, HELL YEAH FOR MORE COMING in 2017!) and yes, even Kiznaiver. And yes, its own story by itself is still thrilling and cute in a way. This was such a fun show and Trigger continues to show everybody why they are the best in the anime game! BAR NONE!!

But hey……this is #2 on the list. If this show nor MHA, AssClass s2, Keijo!!! Or Yuri on Ice wasn’t #1, then what was?

Well…….

1. 91 DAYS // 12 eps // SHUKA // CRUNCHYROLL/FUNIMATION

I have said this numerous times on my Twitter and possibly somewhere else, too, but this was the best anime drama of the year. Not Rakugo or Grimgar or even some of the ones I dig like Joker Game but this defines what compelling drama should be. Yes, I know this is a mafia 1920s depression-set era drama but aside from Baccano!, this is the one that actually tells like an actual mafia story and seeing Avillo/Angelo infiltrate the Vanetti family and see how he can take them down from the inside. As much as I loved Gangsta from last year, I think this show greatly surpassed it on…..well, it wasn’t based on a manga and the ending, while a bit confusing, felt like an ending and what everything is leading to was such a feat to witness.

After Durarara!!x2, Shuka had to show themselves as a studio that can make some exciting projects and man, they have delivered. Again, this isn’t something that’s the usual for anime but that is what I like about this show. Hell, it’s what I loved about this show and while I know Japan wasn’t digging this, I know this got some Western appeal to many folks. Oh, and while we are on that, so far on the English dub…..I like what I’m hearing on this. Yeah, I know J. Michael Tatum is doing the script on this but so far, this has that classic mafia movie vibe and that’s a relief on that.

So there you go, ladies and gentlemen, 91 Days….. my #1 anime of 2016.

And THAT IS IT ON THAT!!! Yes, 2016 can still fuck itself but it still continues to bring good anime to us all.

Let’s hope 2017 can do the same…..or at least be a better year than…..well, you know.

I’m MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid and …..yeah, that movie list is still coming….just later than usual.

5 thoughts on “Anime Discovery and Time of the Season presents: THE BEST ANIME OF 2016!

  1. 2016 had a lot of good anime, I hope this year is just as good or better! There are a few on your list that I now need to add to my ‘to watch list’!

Leave a Reply

