Anime Discovery and Time of the Season present: THE WORST ANIME OF 2016

OK, usually when it get to the end of the year, I normally recap all the anime seasons that happened this year along with the special events that happened during the course of this year but I have decided to go against that this year and go for a more of the traditional type of best and worst of list.

But I will say for anime this year in terms of surprises happening……well, from Hunter X Hunter and JJBA finally joining the ranks of Toonami to Crunchyroll getting into the home video market and that was followed by them and FUNimation doing their own partnership of them providing dubs for some CR titles were big news, especially in the latter.

Now, for 2016……you know, the year where the worst things to happen happened, at least anime still has a good year. Hell, I got 20+ shows that were rated an 8 or higher and some may not even be in the honorable mention list……..but the best will have to wait but oh, boy…….I have seen some plenty bad anime and these are just the fucking worst and be warned, I’m not just talking about the traditional sense of bad being tasteless eechi but bad light novel shows, boring fantasy schlock, pitiful action dogshit and the critical darlings that really aren’t that good in the first place (Oh, and I got something to say to that as well.)

Keep this in mind….if you like any of these shows in here, then that’s good for you. Glad you liked it because I CAN NOT STAND ANY OF THESE SHOWS!!!

Period.

But before we get dirty and grimy with the worst….here are some DISHONORABLE MENTIONS that didn’t make it but yeah, that still suck.

HAVEN’T YOU HEARD? I’M SAKAMOTO // 12 eps // STUDIO DEEN // SENTAI FILMWORKS

Why, yes, I have heard of you, Sakamoto and guess what? You’re mostly an unfunny Gary Stu character than looks like every other bishounen boy anime character. Seriously, all of this is just him being an overpowered student that the ladies are easily wooed and the guys get instantly jealous of and that joke repeats and repeats and it gets less funny the more it repeats. This is what would happen if One Punch Man would go this route and thank God it didn’t.

MAGICAL GIRL RAISING PROJECT // 12 eps // LERCHE // CRUNCHYROLL/FUNIMATION

Another magical girl show that knows it will get dark in the middle and people will die and oh, my God, I don’t give a shit. This is now the pre-packaged Hungry Man version of Madoka Magica and boy, it is boring and I just didn’t care for any of the action or if someone dies because nothing stuck out for me.

THE LOST VILLAGE // 12 eps // DIOMEDEA // PONY CANYON USA

So M. Night Shymalalan finally made an anime, huh? Oh, he didn’t? Well, this looks like if you mix his later, less acclaimed films with an anime aesthetic, you’d get The Lost Village….not to be confused with that Smurfs sequel that no one wanted. Talk about a cluster fuck of a show that gets dumber every episode.

TRICKSTER // 24 eps // TMS ENTERTAINMENT/SHIN-EI ANIMATION // CRUNCHYROLL/FUNIMATION

Yeah……I dropped this around Episode 8 and from what I heard……I made the right call. So many people were soured by another Edogawa Ranpo adaptation and for those that bitched about Rampo Kitan, well…….that show isn’t so bad now, isn’t it? Annoying edgy MC bitch and others that are just there.

HYBRID X HEART MAGIAS ACADEMY ATRAXIA // 12 eps // PRODUCTION IMS // CRUNCHYROLL

Oh, this was so CLOSE to the top 10 but yeah…….a mecha anime that’s basically hentai. No, really, some of the girls get their powers but either getting groped, their titty sucked….i.e. powers by fucking or getting fucked. Hell, it’s too damn stupid to be put on the worst list, especially since I have found another one more dull and lifeless than this.

And now to the list proper.

10. BUNGO STRAY DOGS // 24 eps // BONES // CRUNCHYROLL

This was one of the biggest disappointments of 2016 and it basically took the aesthetics of shows like Baccano!!, Durarara!! & Blood Blockade Battlefront but all the humor, good character writing and intriguing mysteries were gone and it’s filled with grating unfunny humor (with suicide jokes because WHY NOT), annoying leads that’s basically textbook pretty boy annoyances and while the plot is OK at best, I don’t find myself that invested in it. Hell, that’s why I didn’t stick around for the 2nd season. It might be good but I don’t care to find out. This anime is one big frustration from Studio Bones.

9. ENDRIDE // 24 eps // BRAINS’ BASE // FUNIMATION


Who. The. Hell. Was. Asking. For. This? No, really, who? Again, we have another passe ‘stuck in another world’ fantasy with another set of bland male leads with little personality as possible, a trivial story that feels like you rip-off a Final Fantasy rip-off and some of the ugliest animation from Brains’ Base and I really disappointed in the projects they’ve made this year, even the unworthy Servamp.

8. BLOODIVORES // 12 eps // CREATORS IN PACK/NAMU ANIMATION // CRUNCHYROLL

I should be lucky this was the only Fall show on the worst-of list and yet, it still means this was the biggest waste of time ever!! The concept is alright but the execution is garbage with mediocre and bland characters that drives it down every time. Hell, as bad as Occultic;Nine was, at least its failure got some interesting points but what’s interesting about this? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING….AT ALL.

7. QUALIDEA CODE // 12 eps // A-1 PICTURES // CRUNCHYROLL

Oh dear…….I forgot this show existed and so did everybody else. I said that this was the other high school war anime along with Hybrid X Heart, only minus the ecchi and hentai-ish moments and we get dull generic “You’re the chosen one” type drama, listless action, and of course, some of the worst animation A-1 Pictures has to offer and boy, it sucks to be A-1 this year as a MAJORITY OF their stuff sucked and we’re not done with them yet.

6. DIVINE GATE // 12 eps // PIERROT // FUNIMATION

I think a lot of people forgot that Divine Gate was a thing…mostly because some dropped it in the middle of its airing or when it did finished, we moved the hell on and threw that shit out like old coleslaw….or any coleslaw (Coleslaw sucks BTW). Same ‘ol bullshit trying to be dark and edgy that it hurts and the plot is so complicated and convoluted, I just went along with how whatever it went and it went as you expected. Badly.

5. GRIMGAR OF FANTASY AND ASH // 12 eps // A-1 PICTURES // FUNIMATION

I’d reviewed this earlier in the year and I’m just going to say it. I went too easy on this and the more the months pass, the more I thought about it…..the more I really hated it. I hate the fact most people think it’s what SAO should’ve been all along……um, no, this is more of a diet version of SAO, only minus 90% of the action and that’s about it. The story isn’t all that good, the characters are bland and mediocre, especially the unlikable Ranta and the faux tough girl Yume and the so-called “atmosphere” in here doesn’t help the anime, but hurts it because there is nothing interesting about it. We don’t know shit about how they got in here or anything that could help it but instead it’s a glorified slice-of-life trying to masquerade as an adventurous anime. A-1 just made SAO again but half the budget and episode count and I didn’t fall for this stupid shit again. PASS!!!

4. SHOUWA GENROKU RAKUGO SHINJUU // 12 eps // STUDIO DEEN // CRUNCHYROLL

Oh, I know I’m gonna piss off a lot of people with this. Yes, I heard nothing but praise for this and how the acting is good and the animation is great and all that shit. Guess what? American Hustle had great acting but it’s still a crap movie and this is just a snooze fest. I’m sorry, I really do not care for anyone here. They felt like I’m watching the same person going through the same shit and it already fucked up with that 46-minute long first episode and I dropped this after 6 episodes. I felt nothing and people saying Studio Deen saved anime with this. You bitch people praising about Madhouse and Trigger doing actual decent to good projects but Deen does this dry shit (and that damn Sakamoto) and it gets a pass? FUCK THAT.

Do you know what the worst thing about this ordeal is? People might say you either don’t get it, it’s too smart for you or you probably like some dumb shonen shit and to that, I say “go fuck yourself”. Maybe not many people watch this because the shit is so boring and it’s not all that deep. It is basic as hell. It’s the J. Cole of anime. Next thing you know, I’m hearing this went platinum with no features or fan service.

3. THE ASTERISK WAR (2ND COUR) // 12 eps // A-1 PICTURES // ANIPLEX OF AMERICA Good news, ASTERISK WAR!!! You’re not the #1 worst anime of 2016 but you still suck! I don’t think I need to repeat what I said last year but yeah, still got the traits of OP protagonist, bitchy female lead, other side chicks that wants to bone our protagonist and not only that, we got a new addition of Flora, the green-haired little girl whose voice sound more auto-tune than Future. Hell, she might collab with him in the f—Fuck, never mind. Point is, show is still shitty than ever.

2. MYRIAD COLORS PHANTOM WORLD // 12 eps // KYOTO ANIMATION // CRUNCHYROLL

OH, I was so close for this to be my number one worst anime but here……I got plenty of reasons why I hate this show. It thinks it’s trying to be some smart, deep shit along with having same fan service and acting like it was some mind-blowing shit when it’s the same ‘ol unfunny light novel bullshit we swallow every day and I’m going to say this again……If KyoAni wasn’t animating this, you would trash it and I meant that shit. This was fucking painful to sit through and it’s just every anime cliché over and over and over again. Hell, watching Sound! Euphonium doesn’t seem so bad now after this.

And finally, my #1 worst anime of 2016 goes to……..

1. TABOO-TATTOO // 12 eps // J.C. STAFF // CRUNCHYROLL


…….I honestly didn’t know what to expect from this. I get it look like your standard shonen action anime but it can be at least watchable then I’m good, right?

NOPE!!!
This shit went from being passable to bad to horrible to just FUCKING AWFUL in the span of a few episode in the latter half of this!! The plot is all generic as hell even if the concept was a bit cool. The tone didn’t know what the fuck it wanted to be as it was both dark and serious and then a split second turns into some goofy shit and it is clumsy and unfitting. Character deaths are worse as they felt the need to just kill off somebody but not in a way where we felt compassion and sadness but in the dumbest way possible. FUCK OFF!! I’m sick of shit trying to be so dark and grim that it doesn’t felt earned. Just a cheap way to show emotion and shock and Taboo Tattoo just did the crime. It pulled an Akame ga Kill and now I hate this show more than I hated the former. Taboo Tattoo….the worst anime of 2016 and it shows. Man, fuck 2016!!

And this is the worst-of list. Have anything to say on these choices? Agree? Disagree? Comment below and share your thoughts on what anime you thought was disappointed or just plain bad.

Don’t worry, y’all. That Best-Of List is coming real soon.

Until then, I’m MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid and…..oh, yeah, Rakugo is getting another season next month.

I’m avoiding that at all costs. Later.

2 thoughts on “Anime Discovery and Time of the Season present: THE WORST ANIME OF 2016

  1. While I do disagree with some of the anime on this list I am 100% in agreement with you on Taboo Tattoo. Oh, that was awful to watch and it is probably the one anime I will remember as being awful in 2016 long after the year has passed. Most of the other bad and mediocre anime I’ll forget pretty quickly but that bit of rubbish is definitely sticking with me.

Leave a Reply

