MOANA (Or Disney Renaissance STRIKES AGAIN) – HM Movie Reviews

 

(This reviewing style is going to be different with movies, much like the review I did with Zootopia, BvS and Hardcore Henry.)

Moana Waialiki is a sea voyaging enthusiast and the only daughter of a chief in a long line of navigators. When her island’s fisherman can’t catch any fish and the crops fail, she learns that the demigod Maui caused the blight by stealing the heart of the goddess Te Fiti. The only way to heal the island is to persuade Maui to return Te Fiti’s heart, so Moana sets off on an epic journey across the Pacific.

VERDICT: Oh, yeah, Disney Animation in movies are still continuing delivering great and exceptional animated films. First, Zootopia in the first half of the year and now with Moana. Yeah, we got another addition of the ever-growing Disney Princesses (or animated leading women – considering some of them aren’t even princesses to be honest) line-up and long story short, this movie is excellent. Maybe I’m not as high on it like I was with Zootopia but this is still a damn good flick and pretty much Disney saying that they still got the animation game on lock-down.

I loved the character of Moana, especially her adventurous side of wanting to explore the other side of the sea and mostly she needs to save her people since everything in their land is dying and of course, she got an overprotective father that doesn’t want anybody (not just her) to sail into the ocean as the sea is a bitch that will fuck you up, which coming from his point is understandable and hell, that makes it seem like it’s showing both point of views without the other looking naive or moronic. She probably my 2nd favorite Disney Princess character to date (1st is Mulan….she rules all of you motherfuckers!) and of course, the actress voicing her, Auli’i Cravalho does a great job portraying her and this being her first role, too.

Now, with Maui played by Dwayne Johnson…….come on now, you know by now, he got this in the bag. Johnson always brings that charismatic nature in his character and the funniest part of the movie, even if some jokes were WTF, I still laughed.

Let’s get the obvious out of the way, the animation is stunning as always with Disney and what really impressed me was the water animation in here and how it excelled being in 3D animation. I know people would’ve liked it in 2D but I didn’t think it would look any better in that format.

And of course, the music in here……yeah, I liked the majority of the songs here especially with “How Far I’ll Go” and “We Know the Way”. Plus, like some Disney songs, “How Far I’ll Go” also has another version in the end credits performed by known pop singer, this time with Alessia Cara…..albeit, one singer whose work I’m not that familiar of and it’s alright. The one song that I feel like people will love by itself but seems head-scratching in the movie is “Shiny” performed by Jemaine Clement, who played the crab Tamatoa in the movie in this one scene where Moana and Maui had to fight off this one-off villain. I admit I can see the appeal of the song, feeling like a glam rock Bowie-sque song and for myself, I can dig it a bit.

IN OTHER WORDS, THE FLICK IS GOOD.

Image result for 9/10 rating

This is MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid and how far will I go….to watch more movies for my best/worst of list this year?

MOANA – courtesy of Walt Disney Animation Studios / Walt Disney Motion Picture Studios

One thought on “MOANA (Or Disney Renaissance STRIKES AGAIN) – HM Movie Reviews

Leave a Reply

