TIME OF THE SEASON Fall 2016 Edition: OCCULTIC;Nine

So this is another semi-colon series, eh? So does that mean I need to watch Steins;Gate, Robotics;Notes to understand this? I would’ve also said Chaos;Head but even I know that show was some trash, so nope.

This is Occultic;Nine.

DirectorKyōhei Ishiguro

StoryboardMiyuki Kuroki (ED)

Unit DirectorMiyuki Kuroki (ED)

MusicMasaru Yokoyama

Original creatorChiyomaru Shikura

Original Character Designpako

Character DesignTomoaki Takase

Art DirectorHisayo Usui

Art designYoshinori Shiozawa

3D Animation DirectorRyūta Ono

Sound DirectorJin Aketagawa

Director of PhotographyYoshihiro Sekiya

 

Animation ProductionA-1 Pictures

Internet Streaming:
Crunchyroll
Daisuki

Licensed by: Aniplex of America

Plot Summary: Nine idiosyncratic individuals are linked by the “Chōjō Kagaku Kirikiri Basara” occult summary blog run by 17-year-old second-year high school student Yūta Gamon. Little incongruities that occur around these nine eventually lead to a larger, unimaginable event that may alter what is considered common sense in this world.

First Thoughts: OK, it is from the author of Steins;Gate and while I saw a little bit of that anime a few years back, I do notice a little bit of that in the first episode of this: one minute, we are into some hyper shit and the next, slowed down then rinse and repeat. Plus a lot of weird freaky shit happens mixed in (The first being the bunch of bodies appearing the first second [I think; the editing feels like I’m watching a Bourne movie].) and every character speaking fast that I can’t keep up with what the hell they are saying….and considering I’m watching it in sub, it’s more confusing. Characters are so-so and decent here with some of the comedy that can either work or be unfitting. ugh the one that leaves the most but on-the-fence impression is Ryota Nurasawa, the happy-go-lucky, hyper as hell spirit guide with the big—um…assets of being connected to the beyond….mainly because damn she can talk. Gamon, our main character, is hyper in a way, too, but he really doesn’t hold up in memory….even though I just watched the first episode. He’s…..reluctant about the occurrence of what event might be happening. Also, the animation and artwork does have the standard A-1 Pictures look……that and I think they’re just getting lazier and lazier.

All-in-all, it’s not bad but not great. Just in the slight middle.

I would go with Bi-weekly/Low Priority Watch.

I’m MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid and I think I either need my eyes checked out.

Leave a Reply

