TIME OF THE SEASON Fall 2016 Edition: MARCH Comes in Like A LION

OK, I guess I can add in another title in my roster……the hell is March Comes in Like A Lion?

*looks up info*

Oh, it’s from studio SHAFT and Akiyuki Shinbo….or at least him as director (there is a ‘series director’ on here)…..yep, I better get into the SHAFT-ness, I guess.

This is March Comes in Like A Lion.

Series DirectorKenjirō Okada

DirectorAkiyuki Simbo

Series Composition:
Akiyuki Simbo
Fuyashi Tou

ScriptYukito Kizawa

MusicYukari Hashimoto

Original creatorChika Umino

Character DesignNobuhiro Sugiyama

Art DirectorSeiki Tamura

Sound DirectorToshiki Kameyama

Director of PhotographyShinichiro Eto

 

Animation ProductionSHAFT

 

Internet Streaming:
Crunchyroll
Daisuki

Licensed by: Aniplex of America

Plot Summary: The protagonist Rei is a 17-year old professional shōgi player, who lives by himself, not having a real family, and has scarcely any friends. Among his acquaintances is a family, which consists of a young woman, Akari, and two young girls, Hinata and Momo, and who also keep a numerous number of cats.

First Thoughts: OK…..the one time that a SHAFT-animated show (one that’s not Madoka) didn’t left me going WTF or at least one that doesn’t start off as a complicated slog. In fact, it has the simplest of plots to be honest with Rei who is mostly a loner by choice, considering when he does get invited to his acquaintance’s home, he would usually refuse but he does go there anyway and to be honest, him spending time with that family had a warm and heartfelt feeling. Plus, with Rei not having any real family or anyone else close to him, they seemed to be the one true lively spark in his depressing life. And boy, and I thought I was a loner at his age. Now with the usual SHAFT artwork and style in here, sometimes it can be head-scratching or WTF but here…..I see no big problem with it. I feel like if they place it in something that’s not overly complicated or muddled between some bullshit, it can work.

Then again, Nisekoi was simple, too and I didn’t enjoy that one. But this is not that anime!!! I’m actually looking forward to more of this.

Yeah, it is a CONTINUE.

OK, I’m starting to like more of these Fall 2016 anime than I anticipated.

I’m MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid, hoping to keep the family (and acquaintances) close.

Leave a Reply

