Crunchyimation? FUNiRoll? PURPLE AND ORANGE – A special ATTACK THE SCHLOCK on CR/FUNi Partnership

Image result for crunchyroll funimation partnership

You know, I thought the whole Crunchyroll going into dubbing and releasing their licensed stuff on physical media was the biggest anime news of the year. Practically blew all of our minds away when that was announced…….

Well……we thought wrong. Very wrong.

 

via VARIETY…..

Crunchyroll and Funimation, two of the top U.S.-based digital providers of anime, are bringing dozens of new titles to their respective services under a new cross-licensing agreement.

 

Under the partnership, each company will share anime titles across streaming, home video and electronic sell-through distribution. Crunchyroll will continue to focus on subtitled-streaming experiences for fans, while Funimation will deliver English-language dubbed content (“broadcast dubs”).

 

Starting Thursday, Crunchyroll viewers will have access to subtitled versions of Funimation’s summer simulcast titles, including “D.Gray-Man Hallow”, “First Love Monster” and “Puzzles & Dragons X.” Over the next few weeks, FunimationNow — Funimation’s new subscription-streaming service — will add broadcast dubs of Crunchyroll’s summer titles, including “91 Days,” “Mob Psycho 100” and “Orange,” with release schedules yet to be announced.

 

In addition, a selection of catalog titles from FunimationNow — including “Grimgar of Fantasy and Ash,” “Cowboy Bebop” and “Psycho-Pass” — are now available on Crunchyroll. Conversely, “Free! – Iwatobi Swim Club” and “Testament of Sister New Devil” from Crunchyroll will be available on FunimationNow.

 

Funimation also will now distribute Crunchyroll’s titles through home video and a variety of EST outlets, with both dubbed and subtitled versions together. Current Crunchyroll titles slated for home-video and EST distribution include “Ace Attorney,” “Alderamin on the Sky,” “Bungo Stray Dogs,” “Joker Game,” “Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress” and “ReLIFE,” with more to be announced in the future.

 

“Funimation shares our passion of bringing amazing content to viewers,” Kun Gao, founder and GM of Crunchyroll, said in announcing the deal. “This partnership will allow Crunchyroll to continue making the best subtitled simulcast experience for all fans. Anime is a lifestyle experience shared by millions, and we look forward to new ways to delight fans together.”

 

Added Gen Fukunaga, founder and CEO of Funimation, “Our commitment is first and foremost to our fans — and by partnering with Crunchyroll, together we can expand the reach of anime by making shows available to an even larger audience around the world.”

 

Crunchyroll, which says it has more than 700,000 paying subscribers (and also offers free access with ads), is majority owned by Otter Media, a joint venture between AT&T and the Chernin Group. Funimation, founded in 1994, operates in-house anime studios along with technology and distribution partnerships.

 

NOW THIS ARE MY THOUGHTS…..

So what I got from this is that with this new Crunchyroll/Funimation partnership (not merging, PARTNERSHIP) is that on the streaming front, they will share titles only here’s the thing. Crunchyroll will get FUNi’s sub content and since Crunchyroll are making dubs of their titles, Funimation will show it on their site, airing alongside with the other FUNi Broadcast Dubs.

Basically each company is handling their best asset. Crunchyroll on sub content and FUNimation on dub content. That’s fine by me since I got to CR for simulcasts (that and Time of the Season work – which is looking less content for the Fall 2016 Season for me).

Also I noticed when 91 Days, Mob Psycho 100, and Orange are being announced as Broadcast Dubs and there is also the likes of Ace Attorney, Alderamin in the Sky, Bungo Stray Dogs, Joker Game, ReLIFE listed there as well along with the previously announced Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress as future Broadcast Dub titles.

Then I noticed that FUNimation will be distributing CR’s titles on home video and are making the dubs as well.
Now as a dub fan, this pleases me but if it’s just FUNi doing these dubs and not outsourcing to other dubbing studios (Bang Zoom, NYAV Post, etc.), then it’s going to be a bit monotonous.

Look, I like FUNi’s dubs as the next guy but sooner or later, hearing the same voices over and over again will lose its touch. Hell, when I heard that CR was doing dubs, I initially thought they were going to get work from LA or New York (who does need the work) but I don’t see FUNimation hungry for more dub work and I know they can handle the extra work. The past seasons proved it with some flubs here and there and of course people are getting fussy because of some of the writing in there…..although for me, it’s on shows I barely give a shit about (like Prison School, Free, Love Live….yeah, don’t care for neither of those) and I can see them getting a few titles. I’m fine with them dubbing Mob Psycho 100 and 91 Days…..I just hope they aren’t trying to monopolize the dubs just being from Texas and mostly back to that period in 2009-2012 where LA dubs seems rare and only on Viz (who doesn’t license much anime; they are manga first) and Aniplex titles (and believe me, I don’t want to just depend on them for that!!).

Once again, I’m not against FUNimation dubbing some of CR’s titles. I still think this is a good thing that helps all fans whether subs or dubs. Again, this is a “We’ll see what happens in the future” and I’m still pumped to see these new CR/FUNi Broadcast dubs coming soon.

OH, and the FunimationNow service lowered their price as $5.99. So with that and CR’s $6.99…….yeah, affordable for this Hybrid.

 

I’m MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid and FuniRoll actually sounds like something you get at the Panda Express. Laterz.

4 thoughts on “Crunchyimation? FUNiRoll? PURPLE AND ORANGE – A special ATTACK THE SCHLOCK on CR/FUNi Partnership

  1. Interesting post. I was excited to hear about this news. After reading this, I understand what you trying to say. With this partnership, more anime will be streamed and these two companies will be sharing titles. I know FUNi is mostly responsible for dubbing and Crunchyroll is well-known for streaming a large variety of anime.

  2. This is interesting. I don’t watch dubs, so I don’t particularly care. But it’s a great partnership. It’ll be great for both companies to share their content. And it’ll make lots of people happy. If only they shared merch…
    Great post!

  3. While I’m not especially big on dubs, I do think the Funimation/Crunchyroll partnership is awesome! Because, like they say in the promotional video, it means more anime for fans than ever before… However, like you said, I can definitely see where this can go down hill a bit. Awesome post!

  4. I was so shocked when I saw Crunchyroll’s tweet about this partnership with Funimation, or I think it was the other way around. Anyway, I didn’t see this coming at all. I initially thought it was a prank, but then I read the newsletter sent by Funimation and that’s when it finally dawned on me this is real. So awesome! But we’ll have to see how far this goes. So many things could go wrong, but crossing my fingers.

Leave a Reply

