SUICIDE Squad (or DEADSHOT and FRIENDS……with a special appearance by JOKER, SKRILLEX & RICK ROSS) – HM Movie Reviews

Yeah………you may have noticed that I really don’t tend to touch a lot of the DC Cinematic Universe in this blog. Technically, I did with Batman v. Superman but that was a mini-review joined alongside with Zootopia (The better movie of that three) and Hardcore Henry (a VR game disguised as a movie) and if you remember……I really was disappointed with that one and actually hate it more the further I think about it.

Now, here we are with the latest entry of the DC Cinematic Universe: Suicide Squad.

With this, it has become one of the many anticipated movies of the summer and of the DC Universe mainly because this isn’t another damn Batman/Superman movie (or the latter) and seeing a team of criminal misfits and what have upon them.

So…..what’s the story of this movie?

Figuring they’re all expendable, a U.S. intelligence officer decides to assemble a team of dangerous, incarcerated supervillains for a top-secret mission. Now armed with government weapons, Deadshot (Will Smith), Harley Quinn (Margot Robbie), Captain Boomerang, Killer Croc and other despicable inmates must learn to work together. Dubbed Task Force X, the criminals unite to battle a mysterious and powerful entity, while the diabolical Joker (Jared Leto) launches an evil agenda of his own.

OK…..2 hours later after seeing this…….

Actually, that’s one of the positives I got for the movie. This didn’t felt overly long like the other two DCEU movies and it actually goes on a swift pace along its runtime.

Another positive on this is some of the performances are actually well-acted and kinda good. Will Smith is…….well, Will Smith as Deadshot but hey, at least the guy still has his signature charm and charisma in there although it could help and hurt the movie considering it feels like he’s playing a hero yet he’s one of “THE BAD GUYS”. Another great performance is of course, Viola Davis as Amanda Waller. Man, I do not want to fuck around with that woman and I think she’s definitely one of the better things in the movie when it comes to acting.

Also……there is a spot of good humor every now and then. I actually chuckle in some of the funnier moments…..well, the ones that ARE FUNNY anyway.

Now, in the middle of that…..Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn did a fine job and Jay Hernandez as El Diablo was good as well. Maybe not parts I was hyped on but they were decent performances.

Now with that said……..yeah, this is not a good movie at all. In fact, several glaring problems exist in here.
First, the writing, the very thin, predictable-ass writing with Deadshot’s whole ordeal with his daughter and it was the sappiest, sugary shit of the whole movie. We pretty much can predict this as it started and it plays any scenario with an imprisoned man with family outside of jail.

The villain in here is Enchantress and her brother and this is blatant generic villain territory and what is their plan of action? TAKING OVER THE WORLD!!! That ol’shit!! Plus, it doesn’t help that Cara Delevingne doesn’t really have shit to do in the movie and honestly, she’s my second least-favorite part of the movie overall.

You know in the title of this review, I said “Deadshot and friends……”, well, it’s Deadshot, Harley Quinn, some El Diablo, some Rick Flagg (I guess), a little of Captain Boomerang, a sprinkle of Katana (I guess) and 4 Killer Croc sprinkles. Yeah, they don’t utilized all of their team as they felt like an afterthought. Rick Flagg seemed like some guy out of a Call of Duty or Battlefield game and I couldn’t care less of him and I know Joel Kinnaman is trying his all and he’s a decent actor but I felt jack shit from him.
Jai Courtney as Captain Boomerang…..well, the character is only in some spaces and while the performance was bad, it wasn’t bland as usual for him. Hell, this might be Jai Courtney’s better performances in his career but that’s not saying much. Katana is meh as fuck and while Killer Croc got 1 or 2 good moments, he’s just there in the background……could be worse, he could’ve been Slipknot….or whoever Common played.

OH…..ONE LAST THING ON CHARACTERS!! Jared Leto as Joker as the one of the main attractions to this movie……and it felt like a glorified cameo (and he’s second-billing of this!). Basically he appears in little pieces of the movie, some mostly on Harley’s past and later on near the 3rd act but wow, he is bland and not that good. I wasn’t expecting great levels on him but with this Gangsta Grill boss Joker, I don’t find him intimidating or threatening. He’s like your average Florida rapper……hell, he appeared on the Skrillex/Rick Ross song Purple Lamborghini and he’s more featured in there than in the movie. Oh, and the relationship between Harley and Joker is portrayed as a loving one, even though many fans and even some casuals like me know it’s more abusive so there’s that.

OK, what else? Bad amateurish editing that feels like a neon seizure is happening, the effects look unfinished especially with the third act where (yes, it’s true) it resembles that third act of Fantastic Four 2015 and the effects are as bad as that was and the dropping in some random pop songs and I don’t mean just the songs from the album alongside the movie. I mean songs like Without Me by Eminem (granted better than his later shit), Superfreak by Rick James, Black Skinhead by Kanye West and You Don’t Own Me….well, the original Lesley Gore song, not the updated Grace version (which is good, too – minus the G-Eazy verse).

Wait……criminal misfits doing good, wacky hi-jinks, pop songs added in there……..Yeah, I know what many of you deducted by now and yeah, you’re right. They are definitely going for that Guardians of the Galaxy vibe but the problem is…….it doesn’t feel all that genuine. It is a straight-up rush job so DC can get some fast success and while I do want DC to have that…….they are not doing a good job of that at all. They really want to be top dogs but it feels like they kept shooting themselves in the foot with these ridiculous decisions and so far, it’s not making me more hyped for their movies. It feels more like a chore and I don’t want to feel that way towards them.

FINAL VERDICT: Well……I can easily say that while this is a bad movie, I don’t have that much venom for it. I didn’t get angry at this as I would watch this over Man of Steel and Batman V. Superman but this is your average superhero/anti-hero flick disguised as an edgy, stylish, supervillain lead movie. While I did get some genuine enjoyment in parts of it, this is a mess of a movie and I don’t see myself going back at or at least not soon.

Did the Squad reached their Goals?
Maybe…..half of it.

5/10 – VANILLA

Welp, this has been MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid. I’m a reviewer. It’s what I do.

Oh, and also 2 more things:

  1. That mid-credits sequence…….well, you know how it makes you wanting more of their future movies? Yeah, it didn’t do it for me.
  2. “If I die, erase my browser history” is actually one of my favorite lines of the movie.

SUICIDE SQUAD – courtesy of WARNER BROS. ENTERTAINMENT / DC COMICS / RATPAC-DUNE ENTERTAINMENT, LLC.

One thought on “SUICIDE Squad (or DEADSHOT and FRIENDS……with a special appearance by JOKER, SKRILLEX & RICK ROSS) – HM Movie Reviews

  1. A good rundown of the movie. I will admit, after Man of Steel I have basically sworn off DC until someone just drags me kicking and screaming back into the theaters. Sounds like Suicide Squad is at least mediocre in some ways, so it has that at least.

    A Rick Ross/Skrillex collab made me do a double-take, and yeah it is pretty standard Ross but I can’t deny that beat is legit, especially since they kept the dubstep to almost zero.

Leave a Reply

