Anime Discovery – TIME OF THE SEASON Spring 2016 Wrap-Up

HALLELUJAH!!!

That is basically my reaction to the spring anime season of 2016 as a whole. My god, this season was great!!! That YouTube clip I put in there symbolizes my love for this season. For the 3 years I’ve been covering seasonal shows, the spring season has always been lackluster, disappointing or just plain awful.

I think they have learn their lesson of exactly putting actual good anime on here. Not just the boring niche shit that hipsters will go for or the overhyped adventure anime that gets tiring and watching it weekly is a pain (oh, wait, that still exists….enjoy your Naruto filler) but actual GOOD shows ranking from action to comedy to drama to some experimental stuff here and there…….but as always there is some bad eggs in there, although I managed to avoid most of them and some shows I thought was going to be good ended up being disappointing and not worth looking back.

Now as usual (at least this year), I’m covering shows that just ended its run. In other words, Ace Attorney, Endride, Twin Star Exorcists, Mobile Suit Gundam Re:0096 and Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable will not be mentioned here since they are still continuing their run.

Let’s begin with the worst first…..and speaking of worst…….

THE ASTERISK WAR (2nd Season)
(animated by A-1 Pictures; licensed by Aniplex of America)

You know, I got nothing new to say about this one here. It’s the same ‘ol battle tournament shit we’ve seen from the first season with the same tropes of Julis being a tsundere annoyance, the blonde one wanting Purple-kun for herself, the other girls there for…….something, I don’t know and I really don’t care. The show continues to be the bland wish-fulfillment series with the OP lead that always wins in fights and the more he does, the more dull it gets. It tries to have a plot going for it and introduce new characters but it falls flat on its ass as the plot is minuscule and the one character they introduced…….really needs to shut up. I swear, this cat maid green-haired girl that oddly looks like Mira from Dimension W has the most irritable moe girl voice I have heard with an addition of what sounds like auto tune but not in the fun T-Pain way but more in the Jason DeRulo way.

And since this is getting dubbed (no surprise there), I hope they make it less annoying. This series is shit before and it’s still shit now. (2/10 – CLOWNSHOES)

THE LOST VILLAGE (Mayoiga)
(animated by diomedea; licensed by PONYCANYON USA)

So…….what the hell is this show? I wasn’t planning on watching this series but when I did, every week of this show manages to get dumber and dumber with characters who do dumb shit for the sake of doing dumb shit. I know that most people call this “so bad its good” and “funny bad” but while it has a bit of that, most of the time it’s actually dull and the fact they are too many characters and I easily forget who is who because they really don’t stand out as much. The show feels like a M. Night Shyamalan movie only the acting isn’t as terrible but hammy and over-the-top as possible.
In the end, this is a forgettable and bland title. (5/10 – VANILLA)

TERRAFORMARS REVENGE
(animated by LINDEN FILMS/TYO Animations; licensed by VIZ MEDIA)

I swear this show is an afterthought to me because once I watch an episode, I either don’t pay attention to it or just be background noise while I either write, eat, listen to music, other things I’m not going to mention here but this show, like its first season, is nothing worth getting excited over because it’s basically standard action fare that you would catch on Cinemax late night. My thoughts are basically like the 1st season but at least when this show gets its dub, I might just revisit it again but I’m not hesitant to go back. (5.5/10 – Low VANILLA)

BUNGO STRAY DOGS
(animated by BONES; streaming on CRUNCHYROLL)

WOW!!! I did not realize I’m watching Blood Blockade Battlefront again….or Baccano!….or any other shows by BONES that has quirky eccentric characters that are all dudes and they make a lot of stupid and lame jokes and — erm, OK. This anime isn’t good. This is prime vanilla anime as I mentioned before I felt like I’m watching the same shit over and over again and I couldn’t get into the story as well nor I care that much for the characters or the plot. Oi, I know this show has a 2nd cour coming in the Fall and you know what? I’m skipping this. This is a bland title and while BONES do make extraordinary shows, they have their off-days (this, Chaika, Soul Eater NOT!) (5/10 – Extremely VANILLA)

CONCRETE REVOLUTIO: THE LAST SONG
(animated by BONES; licensed by FUNimation)

So 3 shows from BONES were showcased this season and bad news, I only liked one of them and this…..is not one of them. However, I didn’t hate this one and I will say that this did approved over the first season as it was more cohesive and less shoving anything in this tiny box that feels overstuffed. Once again, my feelings of the 2nd season is very parallel to the first season with the only exception that I slightly like it more than the first. We have been getting some great superhero anime and while this isn’t that high for me, it’s worth a look at. (6/10 – Low OK)

And now onto the good shit……or at least what I rated an 8 or higher……

JOKER GAME
(animated by Production I.G.; streaming on CRUNCHYROLL)

Production I.G. delivered a very intriguing and intense espionage drama with its episodic take that is quite reminiscent of its past series Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex only back in the 1930s, pre-WWII style and every episode on any mission whether it be hiding from local authorities, infiltrate someone in a very public place and doing the job no matter how brutal it is. This and Bungo Stray Dogs were two shows I didn’t have high expectations but wanted good things from them and at least Joker Game got them right. Hell, if you’re somebody that loves the spy and espionage genre, I think you should give this a shot. (8/10 – Solid B.)

KABANERI OF THE IRON FORTRESS
(animated by STUDIO WIT; streaming on AMAZON PRIME)

OK, earlier this year (and last year), I admit I thought this was going to be a dumb idea for a show especially since this is basically Wit trying to re-capture that AoT effect considering there is some similarities but either way in the end, this show is dumb……and I LOVE IT!!!! Yes, I like this glorious clusterfuck of a show of zombies (look, that’s a damn zombie) on Trains and mainly the fact that this is quite entertaining and I revel in its magnificent action. It’s possibly the only genuinely good anime from Wit Studio (outside of Attack on Titan) that has aired recently and fill the void for people waiting for Season 2 of AOT……but yeah, when’s that again? (8/10 – Solid B.)

USHIO AND TORA (2ND Season)
(Animated by MAPPA & Studio VOLN; licensed by Sentai Filmworks)

The boys are back to finish what they started with fighting Hakumen no Momo and they waste no time in battling this threat and ended on a bittersweet yet satisfying moment. I wasn’t much into shonen before but now with shows like this, Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure and Hunter X Hunter (2011), it shows that shonen has evolved from the blasé drivel it used to be and actually can be a rousing good adventure with characters you can actually stand, care for and show compassion when something happens to them….although I can’t say every new shonen series does that (*coughTWINSTARcough*) but the majority we got now is good and plenty. I salute you Ushio and Tora. (8/10 – Solid B.)


KIZNAIVER
(animated by TRIGGER; streaming on CRUNCHYROLL)

You know what? I liked this show. Yes, yes, yes, I know I’m the TRIGGER fan here and I think most of you know I was anticipating this the most and I was going to love it no matter what although while this was airing, I notice people bitching how ‘it’s boring’ or ‘there’s no action’ or some other dumb shit like this even though it’s a psychologic drama, not an action title (That’s why I look into the titles I’m watching and not always go blind like a jackass). Now the slow-pacing, I get people are not getting into that and I’m not much into slow-pacing but I also said that if the characters are interesting enough for a slow pace then I’m fine with it. It’s a slow ease of a show that explores the relationships and bonds (well, bonds with pain but yeah) with these characters and sure, some moments like Chidori’s whole thing with Katsuhira bugged me but it didn’t deterred that much enjoyment I got from it. This isn’t another Kill La Kill or Ninja Slayer but a messy yet intriguing drama series that manages to be one of the better anime dramas this year.

So yes, I like the show but I don’t love it. We’ll get to that in a while. (8.5/10 – High SOLID B.)

ASSASSINATION CLASSROOM Season 2
(animated by LERCHE; licensed by FUNIMATION ENTERTAINMENT)

You know, watching the first season of this, it did grow a lot on me on how the series can be both funny and expressive about these student assassins learning how to be one while trying to kill him before the semester ends and going into the 2nd season…..this show still retains being fun and awesome while developing a newer emotional level for us. You know more about Koro Sensei who he is and other truths about certain characters I’m not going to mention but damn, once the next-to-final episode aired……emotions, man. Those emotions. Assassination Classroom Season 2 instantly surpasses its first season by a long mile and I think by year’s end could be on my Top 10 Best of List. Hell, it surpasses the sequels of Durarara!!x2 and Noragami and those are shows I liked. It’s been a pleasure learning under your tutelage, Koro Sensei. You smiley yellow lovable bastard. (9/10 – FIRST CLASS)

MY HERO ACADEMIA
(animated by BONES; licensed by FUNIMATION ENTERTAINMENT)

Superhero media will never die no matter how people will bitch about it and its been in anime for some time now with Tiger and Bunny a few years back and One Punch Man last year (also my #1 AOTY 2015) and now with My Hero Academia and this show is a blast in both being the entertaining adventure of one kid with no quirk becoming a hero and Deku or Midoriya is definitely the heart and soul of this show as you definitely want to cheer for the guy to become a hero like his idol All-Might. Also the rest of the cast is awesome as well especially favorites of mine like Ochaco and Tsuyu.
If BONES didn’t have this, I would be disappointed in them and on another note, the English dub is quite good despite some type-casting with All Might being Chris Sabat but the man did his part well and I like Justin Briner’s take on Midoriya and it’s the best interesting role he took since….Cloud on Final Fantasy MachinAbridged.

Yeah…..

My Hero Academia, one of the best shows of the season and continue to show great superhero anime and I’m definitely looking forward to the next season. (9/10 – FIRST CLASS)

SPACE PATROL LULUCO
(animated by TRIGGER; streaming on CRUNCHYROLL)

YEP!!!!!! Another TRIGGER anime came out and I didn’t expect this to be this good but my GOD, THIS IS A GREAT ANIME…..and this is a short-form anime that lasts 8 minutes an episode and with 13 episodes, that’s an hour and 40-something minutes. That’s your average action movie length and boy, this is TRIGGER PERSONIFIED! From the action to the style to the zaniness to the cute yet distinctive character designs and the crossovers with other TRIGGER properties (including a hint of the other show that aired). While Kiznaiver did something different and I appreciate that, Space Patrol Luluco did what Trigger represented and it did it fantastically firing at all cylinders and shows that Trigger is not something to sleep on and while they have their mishaps and meh shows (the Inou-Battle show are meh), their best ones shine all the way. (9.5/10 – High FIRST CLASS)

And that is it!!! Spring is over and it has ended with enough shows that could easily be part of my top 10 at the end of the year….or some honorable mentions other good stuff comes along.

RANKING (FOR 2016 Debuting series)

  1. SPACE PATROL LULUCO – Highest
  2. MY HERO ACADEMIA
  3. SNOW WHITE WITH THE RED HAIR (2nd Cour)
  4. ASSASSINATION CLASSROOM Season 2
  5. DURARARA!!X2 KETSU
  6. KIZNAIVER
  7. ERASED
  8. JOKER GAME
  9. KABANERI OF THE IRON FORTRESS
  10. DAGASHI KASHI
  11. USHIO AND TORA
  12. JOJO’S BIZARRE ADVENTURE: DIAMOND IS UNBREAKABLE (still airing as of now)
  13. ACE ATTORNEY (still airing as of now)
  14. MOBILE SUIT GUNDAM UNICORN RE:0096 (still airing as of now)
  15. CONCRETE REVOLUTIO: THE LAST SONG

  16. DIMENSION W
  17. PANDORA OF THE CRIMSON SHELL GHOST URN
  18. ACTIVE RAID (2nd cour coming in the summer)
  19. AJIN: DEMI-HUMAN (see REVIEW here)
  20. TWIN-STAR EXORCISTS (still airing as of now)
  21. SEKKO BOYS
  22. LOST VILLAGE
  23. TERRAFORMARS REVENGE
  24. GRIMGAR OF FANTASY AND ASH
  25. SHOUWA GENROKU RAKUGO SHINJUU
  26. BUNGO STRAY DOGS
  27. DIVINE GATE
  28. ENDRIDE (still airing as of now)
  29. THE ASTERISK WAR (2nd cour)
  30. MYRIAD COLORS PHANTOM WORLD – Lowest

The coming summer is the one where I’m taking it easy on the newer simulcasts mainly for 2 reasons:
1. There isn’t much anime that season that piques my interest enough aside from the only 3 I’m anticipating being: Mob Psycho 100, 91 Days and Berserk (2016).

2. I mentioned before I got summer college classes and the less the new anime, the more I got time to focus on that.

Other stuff I looking into are the return of CHED Club Love! coming back with its sequel with an extra Love! added to it. Taboo-Tattoo looks interesting enough along with ReLIFE and Servamp and the rest are just filler for stuff I might like or not and possibly backlog stuff I dropped off during the winter or spring of this year. I heard good things about Flying Witch.

I’m MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid and SPRING 2016 ANIME IS GREAT!!! I LOVE IT!!!!!

Leave a Reply

