TIME OF THE SEASON Spring 2016 Edition: Mobile Suit GUNDAM – UNICORN RE:0096

First things first, if you’re expecting a TotS of “Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress” anytime soon, it’s not going to happen. Reason why is simple…..It’s mainly budgetary reasons and I don’t have Amazon Prime and I really don’t want to pay $99/year for a service that I’m only going to use for that particular anime and since now noitanimA is doing an exclusive deal with them, I choose not to cover those anymore on here unless I finally give in to Amazon or use a friend’s account for it. However, that’s a topic for another day.

Now to our next new anime, I’m doing Gundam again!!!! And this one is a remix of an OVA series. I figured since I’ve enjoyed Iron-Blooded Orphans so much (plus, can’t wait for Season 2) and liked what I saw from Thunderbolt, I could get into most of the series. (Well, not all of it!! There’s too much damn Gundam for me.)

This is Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn Re:0096.

Chief DirectorKazuhiro Furuhashi

ScreenplayYasuyuki Muto

MusicHiroyuki Sawano

Original creator:
Hajime Yatate
Yoshiyuki Tomino

Original storyHarutoshi Fukui

Original Character DesignYoshikazu Yasuhiko

Animation Character DesignKumiko Takahashi

Mechanical design:
Hajime Katoki
Junya Ishigaki
Nobuhiko Genma
Yoshinori Sayama

 

Animation ProductionSunrise

Internet Streaming:
Crunchyroll
Daisuki
YouTube (Southeast Asia)

 

Plot Summary: U.C. 0096. Three years after Char’s Rebellion, Banagher Links, a boy living at the manufacturing colony Industrial 7, meets a mysterious girl who calls herself Audrey Burne. Audrey claims that she is trying to stop the Vist Foundation from handing over Laplace’s Box to the Neo Zeon remnants known as the Sleeves, an act which could spark another war, and Banagher decides to help her. But the colony becomes a battlefield as fighting breaks out between the Sleeves and the Earth Federation Forces, who have also come to stop the handover…

First Thoughts: Like I have said, this is a remixed version of the Unicorn OVAs that ran from 2010-2014 with new animation footage and most of you who probably saw it already will know how the story goes and all that stuff…..or will you? 7 OVAs converted into a 24 episode series might work for those who’s coming to it fresh. The story itself is……well, for what I heard, it’s a Gundam series alright from the dangers of war happening, a “princess” that might have the power to stop it and the main character that might have the power to finish the war. Personally, I’m fine with watching this on a weekly basis because like I said with IBO, if I’m getting both good action and character dialogue/interaction/development, then it’s alright with me.

Oh, and I can watch this in English dub. Also another good point for this series as I don’t have to look down at subtitles for this one.

So yeah, I’m going to CONTINUE with the DUB. Thank you, folks at NYAV Post!!

I’m MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid and do you think I’m missing out on Kabaneri?

Leave a Reply

