Time of the Season WINTER 2016 Edition: DAGASHI Kashi

OK, I jumped the gun too early. I got one more anime to cover and the reason why this is so late because the official simulcast for this wasn’t up yet (Thanks a lot, FUNi and TBS – not that one!) and I might as well cover this now before I forget.

This is Dagashi Kashi.


(Is it me or does the purple-haired one look like she smoked a joint before coming here?)

DirectorShigehito Takayanagi

Series Composition:
Shigehito Takayanagi
Yasuko Kamo

Script:
Michiko Yokote
Tatsuhiko Urahata
Yasuko Kamo

Original creatorKotoyama

Character DesignKanetoshi Kamimoto

Sound DirectorSatoshi Motoyama

Animation Productionfeel.

Internet Streaming:
Daisuki
FUNimation Entertainment

Licensed byFUNimation Entertainment

Plot Summary: Kokonotsu “Coconuts” Shikada dreams of becoming a famous manga artist. The only problem—he’s terrible. His real talent is selling the complex and delicious snacks in his father’s “dagashi” shop. He never thought much about the family business until the trendy, eccentric Hotaru showed up. As a lover of “dagashi,” she can’t let his talent go to waste and decides she won’t stop ’til she’s sold him on sweets.

First Thoughts: So, for those that don’t know what the hell a “Dagashi” is, it’s Japanese for “cheap sweets” and they are actually popular with children in Japan and there is a history of this but it’s best if someone else does that so here’s a link for that. As for this show……it’s fine I guess. I mean, that’s just it. It’s a serviceable comedic show with the major character highlight being Hotaru and I swear the character designer made her looked that crazy in the poster above or it could be the eyes…
Actually, it could be more focused on her instead of the guy trying to be a manga artist and wants nothing to do with this but it’s all a part of her trying to get him on her side but I doubt that might work.

Yeah, I got a feeling while the show got some humor to it, it’ll get predictable very fast.

Honestly, I would WAIT FOR THE BROADCAST DUB of this or MARATHON THEM IN 3-4 episodes. It’s harmless and if you’re interested in knowing about Dagashi, then you’ll like it.

OK, as said before, NOW we are done with TIME OF THE SEASON for the Winter shows!!! You can follow me on Twitter @MAK2HybridMedia if you want more of me and my shenanigans online.

This is MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid and…..actually, I think dagashi does exist in America as well….think about that.

Leave a Reply

