Time of the Season WINTER 2016 Edition: GRIMGAR of Fantasy and ASH

Oh, so it’s another ‘you’re in the game’ video game anime, eh?

And I wonder who’s doing the ani- Oh, it’s A-1 Pictures again? Well, just because they impressed me with Erased this season, doesn’t mean they aren’t still on my list of anime production companies to be cautious of.

This is Grimgar of Fantasy and Ash.


DirectorRyosuke Nakamura

Series CompositionRyosuke Nakamura

Original creatorAo Jūmonji

Original Character DesignEiri Shirai

Character DesignMieko Hosoi

Animation ProductionA-1 Pictures

Internet StreamingFUNimation Entertainment

Licensed byFUNimation Entertainment

Plot Summary: When Haruhito awakens, he’s in the dark. He doesn’t know where he is, why he is here, and where he came from. Around him there are several men and women who have the same circumstances. Haruhito and his companions find themselves in a “game-like world” called Grimgar and must form a party, cooperate, and learn new skills to survive the harsh environment together.

First Thoughts: Ok, it’s not a “you’re in the game” anime, it’s a “wait, you’re in the game?” anime because apparently these people don’t know that they’re in a J-RPG videogame and they must learn to survive in the game and what the hell, this is actually like Log Horizon only it’s done better there than here. To be completely honest, the show isn’t inherently bad, it’s that the show doesn’t garner much interest to be completely invested and that’s in the story and characters (Barbara might be an OK one for me). I’m not sure if this might be good later on but it isn’t something to jump first into streaming anime this season.

Yeah, this is more BI-WEEKLY for me. Hopefully it’ll get better but I’m not holding my breath. Hell, just watch Log Horizon for something like this.

I’m MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid, and minus points for no DATABASE-like theme.

2 thoughts on “Time of the Season WINTER 2016 Edition: GRIMGAR of Fantasy and ASH

  1. I just started it up and had the same reaction when I realized it was a game xD… Could have been my fault for not reading a synopsis and just hoped it was a good airing show from Funimation :3.

    Yeah. I’m currently reading Only Sense Online, so I am really questioning if I should continue with a game-anime. If it is a bi-weekly for you, I’ll continue to check in xD! Thanks.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.