25 DAYS OF ANIME! – #23

So…….I haven’t been keen on the slice-of-life genre as a whole (that and I blame Kyoto Animation for their lackluster shit-tier titles). I get that it is about the mundane experiences of everyday life with a funny twist and I do like some shows like that IF THEY’RE FUNNY. Luckily for me, I happened to find a slice-of-life anime I really loved when first watching it…

And that brings us to #23…..

Yes, this series is basically following the lives of these schoolgirls and yet I never felt bored watching this and they do actually let the girls graduate at the end of the series. The show has a lot of charm and wit within the characters of the show and it actually made some cute and cool characters and they’ve done it without them being overly grating from the child prodigy Chiyo, the spacey Osaka, the cool yet reserved Sakaki (who is my favorite character), the straight man Yomi to the jokester Tomo and even the teachers the unconventional homeroom teacher Yukari and gym teacher Nyamo.

Once finishing it, you’re left with a sickly sweet feeling that can leave you a smile for days. It’s not much of a story but it is a good comedy that can appeal both to slice-of-life fans and regular anime viewers.

 

Azumanga Daioh

Animated by J.C. Staff / formerly licensed by ADV Films

Leave a Reply

