TIME OF THE SEASON Fall 2015 Edition: K – Return of KINGS

A return to familiar ground for the Hybrid One. Only this time, it’s in the subbed form instead of dub.

And the title of it…..Return of KINGS…..KING…..you just got to love that word or name….I know I do.

Anyway, folks, this is K: Return of Kings…..

Series DirectorHiromitsu Kanazawa

DirectorShingo Suzuki

Series CompositionGoRA

MusicMikio Endo

Original creatorGoRA

Character DesignShingo Suzuki

Art DirectorKen Naito

Chief Animation DirectorMakoto Furuta

 

Animation ProductionGoHands

Internet Streaming: Hulu

Licensed by: Viz Media

 

Plot Summary: In modern Japan there are seven “Kings” who share power with their fellow clansmen. The Blue King Reishi Munakata, the leader of the Blue Clan “Scepter 4,” held great responsibilities on his back. The tower that Gold King Daikaku Kokujōji supervised called the “Dresden Slate” was still on his mind, and he felt a great burden by killing the previous Red King, Mikoto Suoh. On the other hand, the former Red Clan “HOMRA” clansman Anna Kushina experienced the attacks from the Green Clan “Jungle” and awakened as the next Red King. By doing this, she bound her comrades through a strong bond once again. Finally, White Clan members Neko and Kuroh believe that the White King Yashiro is still alive, and seek his whereabouts. However, it was not just them searching for the White King. With “Jungle” once again jumping back into action, the fates of the various Kings are brought together.

First Thoughts: First things first, you possibly have to watch Missing Kings, the movie prior to this season to be caught up with what’s happening with the show and lucky for me, I did before viewing this and for the first episode, it was remarkably decent. For the first part, they was some good action sequences thrown in there although it does resemble the sequence I saw in the first season’s opening, like something that should’ve been in there in the first place and there is wonder about this new green clan and the possible return of Shiro. The show still got that GoHands signature blue-filler animation and yes, it does get irritating on the eyes even for somebody that loves the color blue. I’m the Blue Hybrid and I think that’s too much blue in there, also there is more fan service to be brought up there this time. (*cough*SERI*cough* although it’s not a bad thing per se…it does give something to the guys since a lot of bishonen boys are very present here…and they LOOK GOOD, too). To be fair, I wasn’t a fan of this show in the first place but I’m not opposed to watching it. Its blatant style over substance but it’s something I don’t feel bored watching. It’s like a decent popcorn flick that you can just sit, relax and watch but I’m not telling you to turn off your brain to watch it. That’s just dumb.

 

As much as I can like the show a bit, this isn’t everybody’s cup of tea so most of you who already seen the first show will pass on this or you’re going to hate it. This is a WEEKLY show for me. I still like the stylistic action to keep me interested and of course, the music. Man, I still love this music.

 

And I got one title I can enjoy so far. Better than the last one I did. Anyway, I’m the MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid and even I think they should tone down the blue in here.

Leave a Reply

