Anime Discovery – TIME OF THE SEASON Winter 2015 Edition: DURARARA!! X2 Shou

It’s about time I head back to Ikebukuro to see what our favorite people are doing there.

I see a lot of change going on here and…… wait?

Not one cour or two……but THREE SPLIT COURS of this?

I must be dreaming or something…..

One of my most anticipated new anime of 2015….this is DURARARA!! X2 – Shou!

Director: Takahiro Omori

Series Composition: Noboru Takagi

Music: Makoto Yoshimori

Original creator: Ryohgo Narita

Original Character Design: Suzuhito Yasuda

Character Design: Takahiro Kishida

Art Director: Akira Ito

Chief Animation Director: Akira Takata

Animation Production: Shuka

Internet Streaming: Aniplex Channel Crunchyroll Hulu

Licensed by: Aniplex of America

Plot Summary: A half a year after the events of the first season, Ikebukuro has begun to return to normal. High school is in session, Izaya is back to scheming, and Celty, the legendary headless rider, is still chased by the police as she rides through the town. But a few unusual things have slipped into the mix. Gradually, thanks to outside elements, Ikebukuro will be thrown back into chaos.

First thoughts: It’s been about 5 years since the first season and 2 since I’ve actually saw and reviewed the show (and loving it!!!) and I’m just going to come out and say this: After 2 episodes, I am still hooked on this show as ever. Everything I love in the first season is still present from all the characters (Celty being my absolute favorite), the city of Ikebukuro and what antics could happen next. There are a few new characters introduced in the show (like Izaya’s little sisters, Aoba, Shigen’s new wife, etc.) as well and I find myself to be interested in seeing how they manage to be throughout. There is a slight change in animation since this isn’t Brain’s Base that’s doing the animation this time around, it is Shuka and I find it to be just as similar to BB’s animation but that’s just me.

And that’s all I got to say this point. Durarara has become another anime that I love to death and the two recent episodes of the new season got me hyped for more.

CONTINUE WEEKLY —that’s my final answer. Hell, if the show is still as good in later weeks, it might stay that way on the next cours.

Oh, and don’t fret…..if you want to watch the first season, it’s on CR and Hulu…….and even GREATER NEWS, the English dub of that is on there as well!!!! (Which is a good dub, by the way.)

 

And until then, this is MAK2.0 aka the Blue Hybrid, bringing all the people into the Dollars.

Leave a Reply

