Anime Discovery – TIME OF THE SEASON Summer 2014 Edition: Akame ga KILL!

You know, upon watching the first episode, I ask myself two things:

  1. I know some Twitter people I follow talk about this anime getting made and how much they enjoyed the manga and also said this show might have a Toonami airing in the future.
  2. Who in the hell would fight in a sweater and cardigan?!? That’d be like fighting somebody wearing what your next door neighbor might wear.

Anyway, here’s Akame ga Kill!


Director: Tomoki Kobayashi

Series Composition: Makoto Uezu

Music: Taku Iwasaki

 

Original creator:
Takahiro
Tetsuya Tashiro

 

Character Design: Kazuhisa Nakamura

Animation Production: WHITE FOX

Internet Streaming: Crunchyroll

Licensed by: Sentai Filmworks


Plot Summary: Akame, a girl who was bought, and raised by the Empire as an assassin. After meeting Akame, a boy named Tatsumi vows to stand up to the evil of the corrupt Empire with the secret assassin group Night Raid and special weapons known as Teigu.

First thoughts: Well, there’s blood and gore and girls! There you go! 10/10. GOODBYE!

OK, seriously, the show does have a way of drawing you in although I do see some Shonen-like trappings in there (like seeing a well-endowed woman and saying ‘BOOBS’ a lot. We get it. She’s….well, grew in some areas. That’s not really helping here and also her name is Leone in case to clarify it) and some few things that just seems rather stupid and convoluted….and also the main character Tatsumi is naïve as all hell. But however, when Akame and her group of assassins finally appear in, that’s when the good amount of action delivers and there be a lot of blood and gore and one twist that I didn’t expect, but then again for those that read the manga, you probably knew it was going to happen but I’m watching this solely based on an anime standpoint, not just an anime adaptation front so this is all new to me. Also, the animation is fairly good but not something I expected from WHITE FOX, the studio behind Steins;Gate and the poor man’s Black Lagoon, Jormungand. Music-wise, I like the ending theme more the opening theme as the OP really didn’t appeal to me to any sort of way and it sounds awfully generic.

As for it overall so far, I would still consider to watch this despite some of the problems it has but hopefully it could get more interesting in the long run since it is mostly a 2-cour show from what I heard and it doesn’t always act like a typical shounen series and actually progresses more into its story and characters (especially its characters).

So in other words, this gets a CONTINUE WEEKLY.

Yep.

I’m watching this every Sunday it comes on. Please don’t blow it.

 

 

Anyway, I’m MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid, bringing all the—BOOBS, I mean WOMEN!! – Oh, fuck, I’m gonna lose my female fanbase, won’t I?

Wait, do I even have a female fanbase?

One thought on “Anime Discovery – TIME OF THE SEASON Summer 2014 Edition: Akame ga KILL!

Leave a Reply

