Anime Discovery – TIME OF THE SEASON Summer 2014 Edition: TOKYO Ghoul

There be a lot of ghouls coming at ya this summer, even ones that make you want to vomit afterwards or some standard freaky shit you see in a lot of anime.

This is Tokyo Ghoul.


Director: Shuhei Morita

Series Composition: Chūji Mikasano

Screenplay: Chūji Mikasano

Music: Yutaka Yamada

Original creator: Sui Ishida

Animation Production: Pierrot

Licensed by: FUNimation Entertainment

Streaming: FUNimation Entertainment / Hulu


Plot Summary: Ken Kaneki is a bookworm college student who meets a girl names Rize at a cafe he frequents. They’re the same age and have the same interests, so they quickly become close. Little does Kaneki know that Rize is a ghoul – a kind of monster that lives by hunting and devouring human flesh. When part of her special organ – “the red child” – is transplanted into Kaneki, he becomes a ghoul himself, trapped in a warped world where humans are not the top of the food chain.

First thoughts: So, I’m a pretty quiet guy and if I’m lucky enough to have a beautiful woman come at me and has an interest in me, but only for her to try and feast on me and her organs are inside me……Actually, no, that’s pretty fucked up. I don’t want that shit on me. I don’t know much about the manga the anime adapting from what I hear and saw, I felt a Deadman Wonderland vibe from here with some very notable exceptions such as being more of the threat contained (so far). Of course, the main character is your typical high sch—Oh, wait, he’s a college student! OK! Extra points for not making him a high school student, Tokyo Ghoul! Well, he’s the character type of a having a quiet life before it all comes crashing down when he becomes a ghoul and of course, expect some big things to happen. Anyway, the show looks like something I’d watch if I was feeling bored or something. Not really a rush to watch, but if it’s on, I’d would select it. I’m also surprised by the animation here, it’s actually……pretty good, considering this is Studio Pierrot, the animation studio who is famously known for making two very overhyped shonen series (Naruto, Bleach) and thankfully they used their budget pretty well but I wonder how will it look further into the series.

As for now, this show is more of a CONTINUE TRI-Weekly……Like I said, nothing to rush to watch but more fitting to watch 3 episodes in a row than once a week.

 

And until then, this is MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid, bringing all the ghoulish elements in one college student.

Leave a Reply

