Anime Discovery II: Good Luck GIRL (Binbo-gami GA) – #114

Hmmm…….

You know, seeing the previews of this show a few months ago, I wasn’t the biggest fan of it.

Then again, as I said in the last review, comedy is a subjective art form and this especially goes into anime. For me, it’s like comedic shows like Sgt. Frog, Panty and Stocking w/ Garterbelt, Squid Girl, & Kill La Kill does better with me than the likes of Baka to Test, Love Hina, B Gata H Kei and Nisekoi. You can say some of them are the same but no…..they’re not.

I can see myself liking it but then again, it does have the annoying eechi show feel to it and I have been getting annoyed with those type of shows and the fact most of them may not be my thing.

Pretty, busty rich girl Sakura Ichiko has been blessed with an inordinate amount of good fortune, so much so that she’s actually sucking the fortune from those around her. To correct that massive imbalance, Momiji, a God of Misfortune, has come to Earth to “treat” Sakura—only Sakura isn’t so willing to cooperate. As part of an ongoing effort to remedy the problem, Momiji starts living with Sakura.

So……..that comedy thing of mine? Yeah, I saw myself laughing at a few moments in the show that are genuine but most of the time when they were referencing other anime (DBZ, One Piece, Lupin, etc.) or go overblown with the eechi/boob jokes, that is when I groan at that (I would say more but SPOILERS). I mean, it just felt very lazy writing like these are last minute jokes someone just came up with and decided to stick in there. There is also the heart of the show being that good luck and happiness comes from within and not from the material things although it does feel weak as it goes along and while it’s decent, some of the aforementioned comedy interrupt those moments and makes it seem very out of place and awkward. I can like kookiness in an anime and I think the show tries to have it both ways but sadly some of the time, I didn’t feel as invested in the story as much…….nor the characters as much either.

Ichiko Sakura is the most typical Mary Sue character in the show. She’s adored by all of the guys in schools but loathed by all of the girls but leads a very lonely life even though she has about every material thing in her grasp…..oh, did I mention she got boobs? Hell, her nickname on the show is Tit-chiko and thankfully that didn’t get used as much…..at least from what I heard. I can’t say she progressed but it didn’t felt like de-characterization and I did like the banter between her and Momiji and them getting at each other’s throats. In short for the other characters, Bobby the perverted monk and Momo’o the S&M dog god, whose both character traits gets worn out very early in the show. Keita is pretty much the straight man in the series and the rest of the family are decent as well, just not as interesting and I did like Ranmaru in the show as well as she’s one of the few characters that doesn’t annoy me as much. Also, should I give a fuck about Nadeshiko?

No? Yes? I heard in the manga, she’s more vital in there but this isn’t about the manga, it’s the anime version I’m reviewing and I say…….yeah, I don’t give a fuck about her at all.

The animation and artwork is okay, it is more of the typical art style that most anime people are used to. Then again, this is much up to Sunrise’s alley as them doing gag comedy isn’t new to them. After all, like I said, Sgt. Frog is one of my favorite anime comedies and they are responsible for that as well and they do succeed with what they’re doing, although I still do get mostly annoyed with it, too.

Musically, my thoughts on that is meh as well. The opening theme for the show is alright, I like the first 8-bit parts of it and other than that, it’s merely okay. Ending theme is also fine as is the rest of the score.

The FUNimation dub does help me get through the series as it goes along. I did like the performances of Brina Palencia & Colleen Clinkenbeard as Ichiko & Momiji, respectively as they do deliver the best performances of the dub. Patrick Seitz & Todd Haberkorn are pretty type-casted in the show (Seitz being the black guy although he’s damn good at it and Haberkorn playing the one guy with the nasally whiny voice), that’s not to say that were bad in it, that’s the opposite of that as they played their roles very well. Also, I did like Martha Harms as Ranmaru, a VA that I haven’t recognized in FUNi dubs in the past that could become more noticeable in the future.

FINAL VERDICT: The show does have its charms and I have thought of some moments in there to be funny and have some heart but it does tend to lose that quickly when some of the humor gets tired. It’s stupid and silly in both the right ways…..and the wrong ways, too. I will say that it is worth a watch but this is more of a stream it rather than buy right away. Just dip your toe in the world of Good Luck Girl first before owning any DVD and/or Blu-ray.

 

In the end, does the show have good luck on its side?

Well, maybe….

6/10

PLANET TYRO RATING: A Very High AN ACQUIRED TASTE

 

GOOD LUCK GIRL is available on DVD + BD Combo Pack courtesy of FUNimation Entertainment. Streaming options are on Hulu and Funimation.com through their Elite Subscription Service program.


And until then, this is MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid, bringing all the good luck in one busty package.

 

GOOD LUCK GIRL – animation by SUNRISE / distributed by FUNimation Entertainment.

2 thoughts on “Anime Discovery II: Good Luck GIRL (Binbo-gami GA) – #114

  1. I enjoyed this show. The anime references were funny and the characters have a certain charm to them. Certainly keep away if fan service offends you… although if that is the case then anime may not be for you.

    1. Looking back, I never got offended by any fan service although I didn’t know there was much in the first place. I thought some of those jokes were pretty lame. It’s still a decent show and something I would stream instead of buy.

Leave a Reply

