(Hy)Lights #22: Rick and Morty

Wubba lubba dub dub?

Wubba lubba dub dub.
042314_2342_HyLights231.png

You know, there’s something about time travel in most things media that I don’t get a lot. I’ve see many things in media about time traveling from the Back to the Future trilogy to The
Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy to any other various shows, specials and jokes about the subject and there is a little show on [adult swim] called Rick and Morty.

 


 


Rick is a mentally-unbalanced but scientifically-gifted old man who has recently reconnected with his family. He spends most of his time involving his young grandson Morty in dangerous, outlandish adventures throughout space and alternate universes. Compounded with Morty’s already unstable family life, these events cause Morty much distress at home and school.

Now I’m going to get the things that did interested me into the show. Yes, I fully admit that I was interested because it was from Dan Harmon, the creator of one of my favorite sitcoms on-air, Community, and also, it was from Justin Roiland and it was based on his Channel 101 shorts The Real Animated Adventures of Doc and Mharti and another thing about that is Roiland was also the voice of Lemongrab from Adventure Time and he deliver a great line, such as:

Anyway, to the show, this is actually pretty funny in its first season, consisting of 11 episodes, and the humor don’t slow down by the episode. It generally keeping going episode after episode of very absurd humor where some cases it does get very dark (and damn, it goes into a very dark territory. Remember dem “Cronenbergs”? “I’m Mr. MEESEEKS!!”) And on the other hand, it doesn’t go into “too cynical” and/or “mean-spirited” territory. It was more balanced that way and its good that it kept it that way. Hell, I felt like it was gradually funnier than most current running Adult Swim shows and Season 4 of Community (which I didn’t hate, but it was “meh” at best and the 5th season was satisfying to say the least).

As I said about the show earlier, the same can be said for characters on the show from the two title characters from the father Jerry (who is equally lame but in a hilarious way), the mom Beth (very level-headed and sometimes good comic foil) and Summer (whom I can say that she has some standout episodes that are either centered on her, mainly episodes 7, 9, and 11), as they do get funnier by the episode count doing some of the most absurd shit through time-travel, going to other dimensions, watching TV from other dimensions, beating up the devil with the sounds of DMX, hanging with the Meeseeks, turning all the people in the city into large Cronenberg cockroaches. Basically they have done some freaky shit…freaky funny shit though and it does the job.

Yeah, yeah, yeah….I know the animation style isn’t exactly eye-orgasmic and it is simplistic but it fits within the context of the show and it works it off very well. It is much like Bob’s Burgers style of animation but it never bother me a bit.

As for the voice cast, I’m really impressed with the dual roles that Justin Roiland filled in being both the voice of Rick and Morty and he does have some good range as Rick although when I heard Morty a bit, I can sense a little Lemongrab in him but that’s just some nitpicking and I think he did well on both roles. Chris Parnell is acceptable as Jerry although it does feel like type-casting a bit considering as a character, Jerry is quite close to Cyrill from Archer (which I still need to catch up….damn, I’m behind on some shows). I’m also glad to see Sarah Chalke in more roles, too, considering the last things I’ve seen her in are either Scrubs or How I Met Your Mother (I don’t know which season…..3 or 4, I think) and Chalke is another stellar performer and also Spencer Grammer as Summer is also pretty worthy, too. Oh, and I did notice that I spotted one of my favorite English anime VAs Kari Wahlgren playing a reoccurring character, Jessica, the guy that Morty has a crush on.

FINAL VERDICT: Rick and Morty is definitely one of the interesting new animated shows to come out in the past year for Adult Swim and it was definitely one of the funniest to come in 2013. I’m glad this show got picked up for a second season but knowing Adult Swim, I don’t know when they might air it but I’ll keep watch on that. I would definitely tell people to watch this (with caution to most people by the way).

 

Therefore, Rick and Morty earned the grade of

8.5/10

Low FIRST CLASS

 

RICK AND MORTY is available for streaming on adultswim.com and on YouTube. As of the date of this review, no DVD/Blu-ray release has been planned yet.

 

And until then, this is MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid, bringing all the Meeseeks in one room.


 

RICK AND MORTY – courtesy of Justin Roiland’s Solo Vanity Card Productions/Harmonious Claptrap/Starburns Industries/Williams Street

Leave a Reply

