Anime Discovery – TIME OF THE SEASON Spring 2014 Edition: MEKAKU CITY ACTORS

I don’t know why but the title of the show reminds of Harajuku Girls…….anybody remember that? A bunch of Japanese/Japanese-American backup dancers associated with Gwen Stefani. Actually, does anybody remember Gwen Stefani? Well, yeah, from No Doubt.

Well, anyway, MEKAKUCITY ACTORS.

 

Director:
Akiyuki Simbo
Yuki Yase

Original creator: JIN

Character Design: Gen’ichirou Abe

Animation Production: SHAFT

Internet Streaming: Crunchyroll, Hulu, Daisuki, Aniplex Channel

Licensed by: Aniplex of America

 


 

Plot Summary: The incidents which occurred on August 14th and 15th bring a group of young boys and girls together… They are members of a group they call themselves the “Mekakushi Dan” (Blindfold Organization) and each member possesses a strange power involving their eyes.

 

 

Thoughts on it so far: Damn, this has got to be the SHAFTiest anime that ever SHAFTed from Studio SHAFT and Akiyuki Shimbo. Yeah, that guy is at the helm of another anime from the same studio (SHAFT) and the same production company (Aniplex Japan and it’s licensed by Aniplex of America in the U.S.) and you know what? This is actually better than their other effort Nisekoi (yeah, I still say that anime sucks and after seeing the latest episode, I confirm that), however, everything about this show isn’t exactly mind blowing. First off, once again, the main character Shintaro is a shut-in (yep, that again) who hasn’t left his house in 2 years and very dependent on his computer and his cyber girl Ene, who is pretty much a vocaloid (a singing voice synthesizer, sometimes in the form of a young Japanese girl and at least it isn’t his sister) and she can get bothersome to me. Yeah, it does get slow from there. He leaves his house and yeah, shit goes down and now he’s part of it. I hope they can keep my attention for 10 more episodes. For the animation overall, like I said, this is usual for SHAFT and/or Akiyuki Shimbo-helmed anime, as in weird palette and designs, very colorful and highly experimental.

 

Thankfully, it looks like I’m going to give it a CONTINUE because the show does keep my interest and I’m willing to watch more of this.

 

Plus UPDATE: I’m thinking about dropping Mahouka after watching the second episode and this show is already a better bet than Mahouka.

 

Well, folks, that is going to be it for me…..that is, until the season is over. Yeah, I know I haven’t gone through every anime airing this season but I think I’ve looked at enough anime for now.

 

Until then, this is MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid, bringing all the elements in one format.

Leave a Reply

