Anime Discovery – TIME OF THE SEASON Spring 2014 Edition: No GAME, No LIFE

I’m really starting to get why I don’t play that many video games as I did when I was younger.

  1. I might get sucked up in another world, against my will and might die.

     

  2. I’ll still get my ass kicked on online games.

     

  3. There are some cheatin’ motherfuckers out there

     

Director: Atsuko Ishizuka

Series Composition: Jukki Hanada

 

Music:
Ayako Sasō (super sweep)
Fumihisa Tanaka (super sweep)
Shinji Hosoe (super sweep)
Takahiro Eguchi (super sweep)

 

Original creator: Yuu Kamiya (light novel)

Original Character Design: Yuu Kamiya

Animation Production: Madhouse Studios

Internet Streaming: Crunchyroll

Licensor: Unlicensed (at the time of this review)

 


Plot Summary: Based off of the light novel by Yuu Kamiya, No Game, No Life centers on a brother- sister hikikomori (shut-in) duo who have notoriously spawned urban legends all over the Internet of their gaming skill. One day, they encounter a boy named “God” who summons them into an alternate world. In this world where war is prohibited, sixteen different races fight for control but competing through various games. Humanity has been driven back to one final city. Will Sora and Shiro be able to save humanity from the brink of extinction?

 


Thoughts on it so far: Yeah……I don’t know about this one. Another ‘trapped in a video game’ anime and yes, it is based on a light novel…….just like most of the anime airing this season. Welp, this is in fact a wish-fulfillment male fantasy anime, only thing is, at least it knows what it is aside from trying to give an illusion that it’s more than that and so far, the two leads doesn’t look like they’ll fall in love with each other…..because they’re related, as in brother and sister and thankfully, no incest so far (although I can do without the panty shot in one of the first scenes in the episode). As far as it being fun, I can sense that but it’s more of ‘meh’ than actual fun. I don’t know, maybe it’s me or I haven’t sense any fun moments for me in this Spring Season. I think the show is more fun for gamers (I don’t know either for casual, medium and/or hardcore) but for anyone else, they might take it or dump it. Also, the artwork from Madhouse is a bit jarring as most of the palette and the colors be either too bright, vibrant, or pinkish and I swear I might go colorblind from watching this.

 

Now, as for if I’m going to continue it, I would but this is more of WAIT TO MARATHON because I’m not exactly on the train of “it’s good” nor the train of “it sucks”.

 

And until then, this is MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid, bringing all the elements in one format (and I’m too lazy to come up with a custom outro.)

 

And what’s next……Another anime from Studio SHAFT (which I hope it’s better than their recent effort)

Leave a Reply

