Anime Discovery – TIME OF THE SEASON Spring 2014 Edition: Selector infected WIXOSS

Now, let me ask you this question that many people are wondering about ever since watching the first episode?

Does the title sounds like it’s a game made for the Nintendo Wii or Wii-U?

Get it? WIXOSS? Wii-Cross? Wii Cross?

HA! This joke is stupid and yet I don’t feel stupid.

Director: Takuya Satō

Script: Mari Okada

Music: Maiko Iuchi

Animation Production: J.C. Staff

Internet Streaming: Funimation.com, Crunchyroll (anywhere except U.S.)

Distributor: Funimation

 

 

Plot Summary: WIXOSS is a card game that’s popular with teenagers. Supposedly there exist “LRIG Cards,” female character cards with wills of their own. Special girls can hear the voices of the LRIGs, and those who possess them are called Selectors. These Selectors have card battles in a dimension that other humans cannot access. It’s said that whoever triumphs in these battles will have their wish granted. Ruko Kominato is the latest girl to find a LRIG card. She names hers Tama, and without any further explanation is thrown into her life as a Selector.

 

Thoughts on it so far: Apparently, in the anime universe, we are now in the Madoka Age. Much like the Evangelion age, people said X show reminds me of this show that came out before and this isn’t the first time to happen before. Remember Day Break Illusion? Yeah, me neither and I never saw it. I really don’t have much to say for the show except it does feel like a card game anime with the addition of magical girls on there. Albeit, it has a dark atmosphere and vibe towards it but I’m really not impressed with what I saw. I’m not appalled by it but it’s merely just dull and forgettable, aside from nice visual values coming from J.C. Staff. The main girl Ruko being a Selector could be something that look at and for fuck’s sakes, her avatar Tama is just annoying to me.

 

You know what, given the 12 episode count and the fact I got more anime to watch than this, I’m going to WAIT UNTIL IT FINISHES.

Yeah, that’s it.

And until then, I’m MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid, bringing all the cards into the game.

 

Hopefully, next time, I’ll look into a title that one person I know talk about all the time on Twitter (It’s not a dig at you, man. But you know who you are.)

Leave a Reply

