Anime Discovery – TIME OF THE SEASON Spring 2014 Edition: ONE WEEK FRIENDS

You know, watching the first episode of this show gave me some thoughts about my own friends and try to picture anything like the situation in this…..and knowing some of the people I speak to, both in person or internet, it would be somewhat like that but less PG-13 with more profanity and a lot of overused jokes/memes.

Director: Tarou Iwasaki

Series Composition: Shôtarô Suga

Original creator: Matcha Hazuki

Animation Production: Brains Base

Internet Streaming: Crunchyroll

Licensed by: Sentai Filmworks

 


Plot Summary: Yuki Hase, a high school boy, is concerned about his classmate, Kaori Fujimiya. She always is alone and never tries to become close friends with anyone. Given half a chance one day, it seems that Yuki and Kaori have developed a good relationship that they begin to eat lunch together. Although they enjoy having conversations, Kaori, strangely enough, keeps denying their friendship. On that Friday, she confesses, “I have a memory disorder. My memories disappear within one week. Though I became friends with you, the memories I obtain this week will be all gone by next Monday. It’s nothing but trouble, isn’t it? That’s the reason why I gave up making friends.”

 

Thoughts on it so far: OK, this is actually very bittersweet and saccharine at the same time. I do like that he does want to be friends with the girl, but it’s not in a romantic way or at least it isn’t set up like that. Yuki does seem like a kind-hearted and concerned character to this girl and the reason why she can’t be friends with him does seem implausible but it isn’t anything that came from the Key/Kyoto anime. Amnesia, short-term/selective memory loss isn’t that uncommon nowadays as it never seem like a bunch of bullshit and most of the concept does remind me of the movie 50 First Dates only minus the romantic aspects. Like I said, this is a good story where you know the outcome of it can depress you but isn’t wholly full of angst or whiny emotions, but mainly believable ones. Brains’ Base has been a studio, whose works I’ve admired in the past, and this is no exception as the artwork is very decent and the animation is more relaxed and laidback, maybe more akin to Princess Jellyfish.

 

Once again, I find an unexpected surprise in my anime viewing. I’m going to CONTINUE WEEKLY
with this. Everything about this anime is actually charming in my eyes. A bit too sweet but charming nevertheless.

 

And until next time, this is MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid, bringing all your friends into this one-week deal.

 

Next time, we look into…..MAGICAL GIRL CARD GAMES?

Leave a Reply

