Anime Discovery – TIME OF THE SEASON Spring 2014 Edition: INTRO / Blade and SOUL

Good morning, afternoon, night or whatever the hell you may be. TIME OF THE SEASON is BACK!!

And I’m surprised that this isn’t canceled……and yet I can say the same for (Hy)Lights, too.

I’m back to look at what’s fresh in this round of anime and this time, it is the Spring 2014 season…and considering a year ago, Spring has some great highlights of anime from Gargantia to Flowers of Evil and of course, the juggernaut that is Attack on Titan. Now I’m not going to say that this season better be more extravagant this year because I know it’s not going to be, but I hope for some good selection of anime. Fall 2013 brought me Kill La Kill and I heralded that as one of the best anime series from that season and Space Dandy for Winter this year (although it’s coming back in the summer later) but for now, let’s get to the first title I’m looking at and it’s…….Dungeons and Dragons with fan service……so a Dungeons and Dragons anime?

What, no?

It’s an anime….that is based on a Korean MMORPG from NCSoft?

OK, folks, this is Blade and Soul.

 

Director:
Hiroshi Hamasaki
Hiroshi Takeuchi

Script:
Atsuhiro Tomioka
Ayumu Hisao
Daisuke Ishibashi
Kayo Wakanuki
Kenji Konuta

Music: Taro Iwashiro

Animation Production: Gonzo

Internet Streaming: Crunchyroll

Licensor: Unlicensed (at the time of this review)


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qd6QODIqtEw

 

Plot Summary: Alka is an assassin for the Clan of the Sword. She’s on a journey to find the woman Jin Valel, who killed her master Hon. Jin is demon-like woman who controls the Energy of Chaos and kills without feeling – not unlike how Alka has learned to kill in her work as an assassin. On her journey, Alka encounters three strange women, each great warriors in their own right, and grapples with her slain master’s wish that she leave the life of an assassin behind.

First Thoughts: Welp, I was expecting to be Queen’s Blade, given some of the art and the busty vixens in here, much like in the PV and that wallpaper art above, but thankfully this isn’t the case. They don’t treat the women in the show like fan service bait or doing any shots to please the pandering otaku; it’s more of having sex appeal with a bit of restraint. The main character, Alka, is the silent protagonist where her actions mean more than her words (i.e., the type of protagonist I actually approve of) and yeah, she is about as emotional as a bag of sand, but hopefully that can progress into the story later on….I hope and it does start out a bit slow, which I hope doesn’t remain that speed later on. Animation-wise, it is mostly sub-standard at best, but then again, I don’t mind much of Studio Gonzo’s animation in the past (although Welcome to the NHK & Samurai 7 have some problem areas there) but I hope they can be consistent throughout the 12-episode series’ run.

 

However, I’m not exactly making this a first priority anime series, so I’m going to CONTINUE TRI-WEEKLY, mostly 3 or 4 episodes to marathon at a time. Show has an okay set-up with having classy sex appeal in their characters but they should develop the story and partially characters in a good pace and not rush nor go to snail slow with it.

 

And that is all from me, I’m MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid, bringing all the demon-like women in your homes……or better yet, my home.

 

Oh, and next time, we’ll be looking into the latest from BONES, Captain Planet—-Umm, I meant, Captain Earth.

Leave a Reply

