Anime Discovery – TIME OF THE SEASON Winter 2014 Edition: World CONQUEST ZVEZDA Plot

Hmmm, this show sounds like what happened if Squid Girl actually went along with her plot to conquer the world. Hell, I think if Squid Girl’s watching this, she would be like, “Who am I squidding?” and then she would drink her sorrows anyway. (Too depressing? I feel it, too.)


Director: Tensai Okamura

Animation Studio: A-1 Pictures

Streaming: Crunchyroll, Daisuki, Hulu, Aniplex Channel

Licensor: Aniplex of America

 


Plot Synopsis: What does it take to conquer the world?! Every leader of the past has thought of it… but all they have done was to merely dream of its greatness. World domination… nobody has been able to achieve it. Until one little girl by the name of Kate Hoshimiya came along. Kate Hoshimiya will shock the world! How was she able to carry out such a magnificent stunt? So frightful! So glorious! Could this be… the Zvezda Plot?! Let the light of our great Zvezda shine upon this land far and wide!

Thoughts on it so far: Funny thing, this is also a last minute entry as a friend of mine suggested this show to me after I dropped one (Super Sonico) from this season and 3 episodes in, it’s actually a pretty fun series. I will say it does get too goofy at some times but fortunately it can be balanced with some of the serious elements onto there and I really surprised the guy who directed this also did Darker Than Black, Wolf’s Rain & Blue Exorcist but directors do tend to go for projects outside of their preferred genre. I will say that with the main character, Kate, I do see some major comparisons to Squid Girl but only a little considering the world conquest thing is more primary here than on that show (not a knock against Squid Girl by the way) and I believe they are going to stick to that element, I don’t know how it’ll work for the total of 12 episodes but I’m reluctant that it can be done. Also, if you happen to like cute (kawaii) things in your anime then guess what? This is definitely catered to you, especially if you’re a fan of those KuruKuru. Yes, they are called KuruKuru. Animation-wise, this is another case where I thought it feels more like a *insert anime production company* anime than a *insert anime production company* anime and in this case, it feels more like if JC Staff, SHAFT or Satelight did this rather than A-1 Pictures, the company who actually worked on this show and for that, it’s moderately good animation for what is it and it does it pretty well.

So, I’m going to go with CONTINUE BI-WEEKLY as while it isn’t exactly high on my priority list, I’m interested to see how it goes in the long run.


And that is it for TIME OF THE SEASON
for this round. I have reviewed over 10+ shows and gave you my thoughts on whatever show I tuned into and it will be back by the time any show I’ve reviewed gets to the 11th or 12th episode, and that is when I will give my final verdict on each show, so in other words, by late March or so as I will be focusing on other things on MIND OF THE HYBRID ONE, so, until then, this is MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid, bringing all the plots into the plan for WORLD CONQUEST!!

Leave a Reply

