Anime Discovery – TIME OF THE SEASON Winter 2014 Edition: HOZUKI no Reitetsu

Looking for a twist in the slice-of-life genre of anime? You wish it was a workplace slice-of-life anime that involved it being somewhere in the depths of hell? Also, does anyone sense a GinTama reference in there or is that just me?

Director: Hiro Kaburaki

Animation Studio: Wit Studio

Streaming: Crunchyroll

Licensor: Sentai Filmworks

 


Plot Summary: Hōzuki is the aide to the great king of Hell, King Enma. Calm and super-sadistic, Hōzuki tries to resolve the various problems in Hell, including a rampaging Momotarō and his companions. However, he also likes spending his free time on his hobbies, such as fawning over cute animals and raising “Goldfish Flowers.”

Thoughts on it so far: OK, interestingly enough, this is made by the same studio who brought us the ever-popular anime from 2013, Attack on Titan (they animated it along with Production I.G., of course) and part of me wonders how that same studio will fare after the success of Titan and getting more work on anime, keeping their company afloat (Hell, I wonder how Trigger will do with Kill La Kill –BTW, it’s still fucking good, so there) and this is more of akin to another cult anime GinTama which did find an audience in the Western hemisphere. Me……It was alright. Much like The Fool, it isn’t something I would watch weekly but it is serviceable at some times. I liked some of the comedy even though it is mostly Japanese folklore humor that I may not get at first but will probably in the long run. Characters are pretty alright as I do like Hozuki’s stoic appearance and everyone else is good. The show does have a Part A/Part B format much like western animation and few anime like Sgt. Frog and Panty and Stocking w/Garterbelt and I do like the art and animation of the show as it do gives the old folklore look that I found appreciative and fitting.

And this is more like….I’ll watch it TRI-WEEKLY. The show is still fascinating and has a different kind of humor that I can appreciate but isn’t exactly high priority on my watchlist.

And until next time, this is MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid, bringing all the elements in HELL.

And speaking of hell, next time it’s PUPA.

One thought on “Anime Discovery – TIME OF THE SEASON Winter 2014 Edition: HOZUKI no Reitetsu

  1. Truly, Hoozuki no Reitetsu is the hidden gem of this season. It is unfortunate, but I am sure it is going to be terribly unpopular. That will not stop me from loving it, but it still stings.

Leave a Reply

