Anime Discovery – TIME OF THE SEASON Winter 2014 Edition: Super Sonico THE ANIMATION

Hey, Sonic’s having another anime series? All right, co—Wait, I got something covered up. Oh, Super Sonic. The anime about the JJ Fad song? I don’t know. Wait, something else…….Oh, Super Sonico. What the squawky fuck is a Super Sonico?

Director: Kenichi Kawamura

Animation Studio: WHITE FOX

Streaming: Crunchyroll

Licensor: Sentai Filmworks


Plot Summary: Super Sonico is an 18-year old college student who plays guitar for the three-girl band Fastest Speed in Space and models for pin-ups. In spite of her busy schedule, she still finds time to her grandmother at her restaurant. One night, her band members Suzu and Fuuri, are late to a concert, forcing her to play alone. The result of that show will have far-reaching consequences for Sonico.

Thoughts on it so far: Well, I can say it’s the perfect anime in case you’re looking to cure insomnia. This is just another anime show about a cute, ditzy moe girl doing cute ditzy things and every fan of hers eat that shit up and some often just get some tissues, lotion, and the fapping begins. Anyway, about the origins of Super Sonico, she is a mascot to game software company Nitroplus created by Tsuji Santa. As you can see how she’s described, she is a pink-haired voluptuous teenage girl with signature head phones on her head that she never takes off for some reason. I don’t know why and as far as I’m concerned, I don’t care. This got to be one of the most boring anime series of the winter 2014 season and while there are some worse shows airing (like Recently, My Sister is Unusual – and no, I’m not watching that shit) but then again, I chose 10 shows to air in the season and any one of those 10 might be crap and this is absolute crap but not in an completely offensive way; save that for most of the fan service shows that comes around. I knew this show wasn’t going to be a masterpiece. I thought it was just saying like K-On or any other moe show that is mostly boring but at least there is some laughs; although the only laugh I get from here is her manager, the one that wears a monster mask and that’s it. Sonico is just a blank slate of a character, basically from doing very mundane things that anybody practically does on a regular basis, but yet when she does it, everyone adores and loves her and her cutesy wutesy shit and diabEETUS and candy drops and rainbows and you know I’m just typing out random things, right? Animation is very bright and shiny, but kind of too shiny like it’ll blind me and it’s honestly kinda ‘meh’. I don’t see anything noteworthy of it. Also, the way Sonico is designed is just so sloppy and I get it’s no shit that they put her in a bikini to give some fanservice to the viewers; that part I expect from this show. While it may appeal to some people and maybe it isn’t the most horrible thing in the long run, it doesn’t do anything for me.

This anime gets a DROP for me. It really isn’t worth your time unless you rather just wait for it to complete its run.

And until then, this is MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid, bringing all the moe mascot girls in one show.

Next time will be a double feature that involves Oda Nobunaga.

That’s right……..NOBUNAGUN!!!!!! And also Nobaunga the Fool.

Leave a Reply

