Anime Discovery – TIME OF THE SEASON Winter 2014 Edition: Intro / Space Dandy

So, I’ve been thinking about this for the past month or so and I have noticed that I’ve been watching a lot of new anime in 2013….Hell, that year I actually watched more than 16 simulcasting anime shows, although I only watched the Spring & Fall 2013 shows as Summer 2013 wasn’t that interesting to me. Also, 2013 was a notable year for anime with Attack on Titan being the most popular anime across the Western audiences, even attracting to people who don’t even watch anime. For me, I did like it and it was a show that had me on edge every time but for it being #1? Nah, not really. It’s a great show and all but I saw two fall anime that are better than them in my opinion (HINT: They are still airing today and will end their run as Spring 2014 comes around).

But I thought of an idea!!!

I’m going to do first impression reviews of the newest anime to come in every season!!

*crickets*

OK, I get it. It isn’t very original or exciting but as I dig in more into anime, there is so much to know about and I’ve done that with my Anime Discovery reviews, going through either current to classic to unknown anime but I want to know, in my eyes, that if the new anime can be just as good. Not all of them can be masterpieces and I don’t expect them, too, but I just want an enjoyable experience from any show I watch. However, this is different as I’m only choosing 10 titles. Why 10? Because I don’t have time to watch 47 new anime series, especially with some that are still running and some of them are mostly the same thing. I’m not going to lie about that, there is a trend of anime having the same plot and trends (moe, high school, mecha, etc.). Plus, hey, I like anime but I like to watch other stuff non-anime, too.

Now, without further due, the first anime to discuss in TIME OF THE SEASON is also one of the most hyped titles of all season. How hyped? Well, it is currently airing at Toonami @11:30/10:30 P.M. with a simul-dub…that’s right, an English dub premier of a show before it airs on Japan.

Yes, my friends, from Shinichiro Watanabe, director of Cowboy Bebop, Samurai Champloo & Kids on The Slope, here is SPACE DANDY!!!!!

Director: Shingo Natsume, Shinichiro Watanabe (General Director)

Animation Studio: Bones

Streaming: Funimation.com (sub); Hulu (sub); Toonami on Adult Swim (English version)

Licensor: FUNimation

Plot Summary: Space Dandy is a space hunter, someone who is paid to search for new, undiscovered alien species. It’s an industry where the prize goes to the person who finds aliens the fastest. Dandy searches unknown planets for strange beings with his companions, QT the worn-out robot and Meow from Betelgeuse. Meanwhile, they’re being chased by minions of the Gogol Empire, for reasons that are still a mystery.

Thoughts on it so far: This is a very fun ride of a show as it is very absurdly funny and zany and just what I expected from the show. The humor does remind me a bit of Sgt. Frog in the sense of there being 4th wall jokes, meta humor and character-esque comedy. It is very noted that the show does not take itself very seriously as in the first episode, Dandy and the crew dies in an explosion but he’s back in episode 2. The narrative of the show is sloppy even if it knows it as it was noticeable in the 1st episode and maybe the 2nd (I’m 3 episodes in) but it just seems like an afterthought to me. The reason why I consider Watanabe to be my favorite anime director is that he always tries something new in his shows or whatever projects he’s doing and it does work in the end. Maybe it’s me being too much of a fan of him but to me, he’s being the opposite of a ‘one-trick pony’ and the shows he directed proved that. Animation-wise, this is very stellar on Bones’ part, high quality animation as its’ finest. As for the English dub (because I watched that one and compared it to the sub, yes, there are a few changes to the script but only to fit within the Western localization) it is rather a good dub. Ian Sinclair is rightfully casted as Dandy, I like Alison Viktorin as QT and the usage of auto tune of the character and voice does help since the character is a robot and Joel McDonald as Meow is serviceable and for those who kept thinking it’s going to be the next Cowboy Bebop…..STOP THAT SHIT!!! There is not going to be a next Cowboy Bebop. If you want that, just watch Cowboy Bebop and if you already have, then watch it again if you want. Space Dandy is its own entity.

And before I give a verdict (or something like that), I’m going to use a different rating system than what I use in reviews I do for Planet Tyro since this is for anime that’s still running.

They are CONTINUE WEEKLY, CONTINUE BI-WEEKLY, WAIT TO MARATHON, WAIT UNTIL DVD/BD, or just DROP.

For Space Dandy, I’m going with CONTINUE WEEKLY.

Definitely an enjoyable and humorous series so far.

So until next time, this is MAK2.0 aka The Blue Hybrid, bringing all the dandies into space.

And speaking of next time……..it’s NORAGAMI.

One thought on “Anime Discovery – TIME OF THE SEASON Winter 2014 Edition: Intro / Space Dandy

Leave a Reply

