(Hy)Lights #18 – First Impressions of MARVEL® AGENTS of SHIELD ™

Original Date: September 27, 2013

You know, I can say and repeat the many, many things that people said about Marvel and their live-action movies that they are definitely on the right track and are steadily doing a better job in that department than DC Comics in the last few years or so and with the start of Phase 2 already done by Iron Man 3 (and yes, fanboys, I happen to like Iron Man 3.) and the upcoming sequel to Thor, the Marvel Cinematic Universe is making a stop to the small screen, continuing on from The Avengers with the focus on someone rather than the main superheroes, but more like the people that clean up the messes of the heroes and can keep themselves under wraps, that is, until someone tries to expose them.

Now with this show, this is Joss Whedon’s return to television, ever since Dollhouse is canceled and he has become somewhat of a punch line as most of his shows like Tru Calling, the aforementioned title Dollhouse, and of course, Firefly were canceled by Fox and many fans expressed their anger towards the network, although since then Whedon has enjoyed his success either it be by cult status (Cabin in the Woods) and both critical and financial success (The Avengers—well, no shit, Sherlock) but there is another factor that could go against them and that is that they did air a superhero-esque show before (No Ordinary Family) and that got canned after one season, but then again, the writers are exactly known for doing schlocky material, whether it be movies, TV, or comics, but I have more faith in this series and my opinion of Whedon is that the guy definitely deserve the success with The Avengers after all the shit he’s been through over the last few years let’s just hope it doesn’t go through his head.

Clark Gregg reprises his role of Agent Phil Coulson from Marvel’s feature films, as he assembles a small, highly select group of Agents from the worldwide law-enforcement organization known as S.H.I.E.L.D. Together they investigate the new, the strange, and the unknown across the globe, protecting the ordinary from the extraordinary. Coulson’s team consists of Agent Grant Ward (Brett Dalton), highly trained in combat and espionage; Agent Melinda May (Ming-Na Wen), expert pilot and martial artist; Agent Leo Fitz (Iain De Caestecker), brilliant engineer; and Agent Jemma Simmons (Elizabeth Henstridge), genius bio-chemist. Joining them on their journey into mystery is new recruit and computer hacker, Skye (Chloe Bennet).

My Thoughts: Well, I actually enjoyed the pilot episode. I’m not going to say it’s perfect or anything as I wasn’t expecting it to be up to The Avengers-tier since this is a TV show, meaning the effects are going to be less than what you expect in the movies but hey, they’re pretty good for what it is. The acting was pretty excellent in the series but that’s mostly due to Clark Gregg bringing back the role of Agent Phil Coulson, and yes, folks, Coulson is back and better than ever. The other actors were fine in their parts although some of the characters are mostly just the archetypes of someone being the kick-ass assassin, the tech nerds, the young cocky agent and the even cockier outsider who was tracking them first, but they were quite entertaining and I liked the dialogue written for them sometimes, that is, if you like Whedon’s style of writing and if you don’t, you won’t enjoy the show and yet I don’t watch much of his material and you can see that I like the show. I didn’t expect some twists going into the episode with the story of how this one man named Mike Peterson (the antagonist for the pilot, played by J. August Richards) acquire super human powers and I also sense them using some elements of the EXTREMIS plotlines involving the powers he got (correct me if I’m wrong; I’m not much of a comic book reader, I just recognize some of it while watching Iron Man 3).

This is basically Marvel’s version of a procedural drama and I’m glad they executed this well as I really don’t watch or really care for much of those type of shows. I mean, I watch some of them although they are some things that hook me to them but for shows like Law and Order, NCIS, CSI, and other shows like that, I just really don’t give a damn about those unless there is a hook and Agents of Shield has that hook as it makes you feel you’re watching a comic-book movie but in TV format and while there are some of those on TV, most of the successful ones happened to be on cable and ABC definitely needs this (Oh, and it did helped them in the ratings department as their first episode debuted with 12.12 million viewers with a 4.7 18-49/14 rating/share) for their floundering network.

But could this show start something for the major networks, bringing known DC / Marvel comic series into the small screen? As of recently, there are plans for a show on FOX called “Gotham” involving Commisioner Gordon and one for “Constantine” being developed by David S. Goyer for NBC. I don’t know about this but I hope for them, they don’t mess it up……..but I’m not hoping for anything.

FINAL VERDICT:  So what I can after this? If you were disappointed by the first episode but you know it could get better, you should probably stick to it. As for me and to the ones that did enjoy the first episode and hope for more goodness of it………I think the fans that enjoyed the Marvel Cinematic Universe movies would stick by this and hopefully this won’t pull another No Ordinary Family on us.

Yeah, this show isn’t No Ordinary Family and be glad about that.

MARVEL’S AGENTS OF SHIELD – highly recommended for fans of the MARVEL Cinematic Universe; if you’re curious, try to give it a chance before judgment.

 

And that is all for me.

I’m MAK2.0 aka Blue Hybrid, bringing all the heroes into one SHIELD.

 

MARVEL® AGENTS of SHIELD ™ – courtesy of ABC Studios & Marvel Television

THE MIND OF THE HYBRID ONE – my Tumblr site.

One thought on “(Hy)Lights #18 – First Impressions of MARVEL® AGENTS of SHIELD ™

Leave a Reply

