(Hy)Lights #17 – First Impressions of DADS, BROOKLYN NINE-NINE & SLEEPY HOLLOW

Original Date: September 20, 2013

 

Welcome all, TV Viewers!

This time around in HyLights, I will be sharing you my thoughts or first impressions of the new fall 2013 TV lineup, where I find some shows (shows that interested me at first) and see how they are executed within the first episode. Now, granted, I don’t plan to do full reviews of these shows every week and possibly the shortest reviews I’m writing. They are most likely going to be what I thought of the show and this is no way any prediction of how the show’s going to be.

 

Now with that out of the way, let’s begin with FOX’s new programming, as they debuted three new shows this week with the very strange and oddly anticipated show Sleepy Hollow, the next Seth MacFarlane-produced live-action sitcom Dads, and the Andy Samberg starrer Brooklyn Nine-Nine.

First up, it’s Dads.

 

DADS explores the often treacherous terrain of the father-son landscape. The multi-camera comedy series follows two successful guys – and childhood best friends – now in their mid-30s, whose relatively stable lives get turned upside down when their inappropriate and pain-in-the-neck patriarchs move in.

 

My thoughts:

Oh, this show is complete and utter garbage, as in the type of comedy is that type to cater to the lowest common denominator. It’s that show that wants to be edgy but overdo it and it ends up being a sloppy written, unfunny mess. It’s basically tell a racist or misogynist joke to get some laughs and it desperately fails on that. Hell, even when they aired ads on this, they know most critics hated this show but yet they said the fans loved it.  Um, that isn’t always a good thing. Hell, I think they aired an ad with them hiring actors to play “fans” of the show (I don’t know if it’s true or not but it’s still a douche move there.) In short, Seth Green’s character is an unlikable douche with an equally unlikable douche of a father, Giovanni Ribisi is the milquetoast pussy who has the hot wife and seemingly unintentionally racist dad. I’m sure that Martin Mull and Peter Riegert are talented actors and I think they are but here, what they got is awful material. Oh, one more thing, when you show Brenda Song in a naughty Asian schoolgirl outfit and it’s more offensive and a poor attempt of being funny rather than sexy, you know you screwed this up.

FINAL VERDICT: Do not watch this P.O.S.

 

 

Now, with Brooklyn Nine-Nine.

 

BROOKLYN NINE-NINE is a new single-camera ensemble comedy about what happens when a talented, but carefree, detective and his diverse group of colleagues get a new captain with a lot to prove.

 

My thoughts:

So with this show, I had more faith in this one than Dads and this one has the most potential to actually be funny, although I was 50/50 on Andy Samberg and personally, I’m okay with the guy. He was great in Saturday Night Live and I love The Lonely Island but with his recent roles in That’s My Boy and Grown Ups 2, I was more skeptical on this but when I saw it for the first time…….this show is actually one of the funniest shows I’ve seen on FOX in a while and yeah, Fox has been airing live-action sitcoms recently with New Girl and Mindy Project and while both shows are fine, they don’t really hook me to them, unlike this show.

 

Samberg manages to be funny without going too awkward and too annoying with the role of Detective Jake Peralta, a character who is almost akin to Michael Scott or Leslie Knope in certain ways…then again, producers from that show are also in here, too. It’s also nice to see Andre Braugher in a comedic performance by playing the straight (no pun intended) man, although I think he always played that role to whatever he’s in. Terry Crews is always awesome in what he’s in because…..he’s fucking Terry Crews! Everyone else in the supporting cast do bring out the humor, although they’re not as noticeable but they managed to deliver. Surprisingly, the pilot is directed by Phil Lord and Chris Miller, the directors of Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs and 21 Jump Street and I definitely those two can bring out comedy even when the odds are against them and the rare examples of directors who did animated work that excel in live-action (other example is Brad Bird). This is definitely something to watch although some other show may conflict in the way, so either watch the show in between breaks of that other show or DVR it and watch it afterwards…….trust me, it’s a better choice than Dads. Hell, using duct tape to remove the leg hair from you is a better option than watching Dads.

FINAL VERDICT: It’s definitely highly recommended among myself and if you can’t watch it due to work or another equally awesome work, DVR it.

 

And now, Sleepy Hollow.

The series is considered a “modern-day retelling” of the 1820 short story “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” by Washington Irving. After Ichabod Crane “dies” during a mission for General George Washington in 1781, he awakens in 2013 Sleepy Hollow, New York. But so does the Headless Horseman, whose head Ichabod chopped off before his perceived death. The horseman begins his nightly killing spree, and Ichabod must partner with Lt Abbie Mills.

 

My thoughts:

I think the series has some potential. Sure, the premise is downright stupid but I can say that it’s pretty bold of them to try a modern-day concept of “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” and to some credit, it seemed more interesting given that, in my opinion, the short story isn’t really that great but it’s still a good read and in their defense, the show just gives off that summer movie vibe of where it just some popcorn fun and that is all, which is funny because it’s a show for the fall and also Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman, who written and produced many summer movies in their time (from Star Trek, Transformers, etc.) and also involved in television shows such as Fringe and Hawaii 5-0 (Remake) and Len Wiseman, known for the Underworld movies is also involved in this so this will be more of something that a specific kind of people can have fun with.

 

There were some moments where I’m thinking some characters would be focused more into the show although I won’t spoil what happens to them. I think this is a very interesting and possibly fun show but it isn’t something I would put as a priority first. Maybe if I was bored and nothing else was on, I tune into the show but that’s all.

 

FINAL VERDICT:  An entertainingly stupid show that guarantees some fun for its audience but definitely not worth rushing to see or watching religiously. I would either DVR it or watch it online.

 

 

And that is my first impression of these three shows.

 

B99 – See it.

DADS – Fuck this show

Sleepy Hollow – Stream or DVR it

 

 

And until then, this is MAK2.0 aka Blue Hybrid, bringing all the elements in one format.

 

DADS & SLEEPY HOLLOW– courtesy of Twentieth Century Fox Television

BROOKLYN NINE-NINE – courtesy of NBC / Universal Television.

 

THE MIND OF THE HYBRID ONE – my Tumblr site.

Leave a Reply

