Django Unchained (or the live-action Catcher Freeman movie) – HM Movie Reviews

Original Date: December 27, 2012

Hey, I’m finally writing an actual movie review on Spill since the past 3 months ago and it looks like I picked the perfect movie, especially from all the controversy from esteemed black entertainers and figureheads and acclaimed film critics and even on Spill.com and the residents but now’s not the time for that…..at least, not yet. But for now, today’s topic is about one of my favorite directors returning to the big screen since Inglorious Basterds and took on a topic that most directors or anyone in America (I guess) might found to be a very controversial topic: slavery in the deep dirty south in Django Unchained.

 

 

Set in the South two years before the Civil War, Django Unchained stars Jamie Foxx as Django, a slave whose brutal history with his former owners lands him face-to-face with German-born bounty hunter Dr. King Schultz (Christoph Waltz). Schultz is on the trail of the murderous Brittle brothers, and only Django can lead him to his bounty. Honing vital hunting skills, Django remains focused on one goal: finding and rescuing Broomhilda (Kerry Washington), the wife he lost to the slave trade long ago. Django and Schultz’s search ultimately leads them to Calvin Candie (Leonardo DiCaprio), the proprietor of “Candyland,” an infamous plantation. Exploring the compound under false pretenses, Django and Schultz arouse the suspicion of Stephen (Samuel L. Jackson), Candie’s trusted house slave. — (C) Weinsteinago and is now in the ownership of one Calvin J. Candie (Leonardo Dicaprio).

http://d1oi7t5trwfj5d.cloudfront.net/b7/3ad5708fbe11e1bcc4123138165…” width=”661″ height=”464″ />

 

Now I’m just going to get the elephant in the room out of the way and by that I mean the times the “N” word was used throughout the movie and I would have counted…I did but I lost count at 20 or 30. However, as myself being a black man that’s in the South, was I offended by the usage of the word?

NO. I’m NOT!!

I just annoyed by the number of times because it can get very old and irritating by the third act. I get trying to sound like times back then, but I’m sure that word is only used less than 50 or 100 times.  If it’s trying to be like The Boondocks with its usage of the “N” word, they went too over the top on that subject. I guess there really was 48 NPS (N****s per second). In fact, the more people mentioned that as a put-off to the movie, the more I get bemused by the reactions but that doesn’t mean I don’t respect your opinions. I just think there was a bit of overreacting on that part but I understand it more and I did before.

Now, Quentin Tarantino, as I said before, is one of my favorite film directors but I do see some flaws throughout this movie but yet, I really did enjoy this movie…..and man, did I ever love this movie when it finished. The performances from all the cast were as excellent as I thought it was but if I were to range it, it would be Christoph Waltz as King Schultz first, because he has proven more to excel at what part he plays, probably one of the very reasons why I enjoy Inglorious Basterds so much. Samuel L. Jackson as Uncle Ruckus—err, I mean, Uncle Tom—err, I mean Stephen the house slave was more of a villain in the movie than Leonardo Dicaprio and you can see the evil in Sam’s eyes and his fake white hair. You know he is an evil motherfucking bastard and as for Leo, he plays the part of Calvin Candie very well, not much of a villain but he brought a presence to the screen and maybe him and/or Waltz could get some award recognition (Well, they did, I’m saying they could win an Oscar or just Leo, but I’m not oppose to Waltz.) Now, Jamie Foxx, the titular character and lead, did play a solid part in the film but if felt like he was more as a sidekick in the first act rather than the main hero and it doesn’t get like that until it’s heading for the third act, where in my opinion he shines. However, Kerry Washington, who plays Broomhilda, the damsel in distress and the plot convenience, mostly just looks onscreen in terror and being beaten. She does get naked but not in a sexy way, so don’t get your boners rising.

Some flaws in the film also include some of the editing in the movie, although this isn’t Quentin Tarantino’s usual editor Sally Menke, as she unfortunately passed away 2 years ago, which is a damn shame because she was really needed for that. Some of the movie did felt uneven but I can excuse that since it seemed like a very small flaw in the film. There were a few brutal scenes like a man being torn apart by dogs and while I didn’t look away and it didn’t really show much, if you’re squeamish, it’s something you don’t want to see along with the gunfights during the movie and there were a lot of them, which was the parts of the movie that made me feel alive and energetic, much like the Crazy 88 battle scenes in Kill Bill, Vol. 1 (my favorite QT movie, BTW).

 

Now as for the music, QT has always use a lot of licensed music in his movies and it’s very diverse and widespread and I applaud him for that but some spots of music just felt inappropriate much like the Rick Ross song for the soundtrack, which felt uneven and not because I’m not a fan of his music but, really, Rick Ross? Jim Croce’s “I Got a Name” felt too campy but yet it does fit the part on that one scene. However, the 2Pac/James Brown mix track got me excited as did the track for John Legend but yet the best song was used in the end credits. It was “Ode to Django” by The RZA and it’s not even in the soundtrack…or maybe it’s on iTunes as a bonus track.

http://d1oi7t5trwfj5d.cloudfront.net/c3/5b08b0b09e11e1bcc4123138165…” width=”675″ height=”404″ />

FINAL VERDICT: As much flack I might get for saying this, this is one of my favorite movies of 2012. Hell, I’m very positive it’s going to get a spot on my best of 2012 movies list that I’m posting on Spill real soon. This is what most people expected and/or wanted from Tarantino and yes, this movie is not flawless in anyway and I would have rated it as Better Than Sex myself but that would be cheating myself from whatever integrity I have and quite frankly, this was an over-the-top movie that doesn’t bore me. It drags at some parts but it is damn good and entertaining.

 

So, Django Unchained breaks out with a……

9.5/10

FULL PRICE

 

And now that I completed my mission to see this before the end of 2012, the top 10 (or 5 for Disappointing) best and worst movies will be present shortly.

Until then, this is MAK2.0 aka The Hybrid….

That’s THE-H-Y-B-R-I-D. The “The” isn’t silent. It’s part of the name.

…..bringing all the elements in one format.

 

DJANGO UNCHAINED – courtesy of The Weinstein Company & Columbia Pictures Industries Inc.

Leave a Reply

