Anime Discovery V2: Ginga no Uo URSA Minor Blue – #32

 

There was trouble brewing and pretty soon it could come to the other side of the world…..The Hybrid Clone just escaped from being dumped into the river and transported himself to Durban, South Africa. He did have a reason to travel there and unfortunately it is all a part of his hit list and the next target happens to be Ani. Now, initially, I was worried about her and the endangerment she was going to encounter but yet I know she was a woman who isn’t willing to give up and it helps that she has a bad-ass arsenal of weapons. So, it was all up to me, Paradox & Jumper to travel to South Africa and get to the clone before he hurts another one of us and I loaded up with Blue Leaf and focus on my journey but made a pit stop in Georgia and that’s when I ran up to Discord, or as of now he goes by the name of Batmare (Ask him why he named himself that), and of course, I warned him about the clone that was me and he said to me some shit about if I was the clone and was tricking him and it went on for the next 10 minutes and yeah, let’s skip that and get to the mission. Operation URSA Minor Blue.

This 20-minute anime short comes from Tamura Shigeru, an animator/manga artist, who has worked in several animated works including The Glassy Ocean and Phantasmagoria and has contributed to the defunct manga magazine Garo.  For me, finding the information on the director and this anime is pretty obscure and I couldn’t find more info on him but hopefully, the little info I gotten might help this.

 

Here’s the plot in a nutshell: This adventurous story of a boy named Uri and an old man takes place in the cosmic Milky Way where the starfish live. This is the tale of their fantasy journey in search of the mysterious monster fish. Yuri discovers a new star near Ursa Minor. Further observation of the newly found celestial body lets his grandfather witness the transformation of the constellation into a diabolic looking fish swimming up the Milky Way. It’s up to Yuri and his grandfather to stop all the destruction this monstrous fish is causing.

Now, the only two main characters or the ones worth talking about is, obviously, Uri and his grandfather and to sum them up, they are straight-forward simple and was simple as they are, they didn’t need any more characterization. There isn’t any deep dialogue between the two of them but they do have a purpose throughout the short and weren’t just faffing about nothing.  The same thing can be said about the story, too. It is a very straight-forward and simple story with no unnecessary filler or idiocy.

 

The animation reminds me a bit of the old TinTin cartoon that was on HBO and maybe the comics, too, but I have no recollection of that and it is very non-traditional Japanese animation (i.e., back to surreal style anime) and at first, it did look a bit cheap but cheap doesn’t mean it will be bad and sometimes the basics and simplicity do work out in your favor and I think I said this too many times but it can work out if it’s done right. Really, how many times have I said that during my reviews? The music, I really didn’t pay much attention to, but it does play like a 16-bit RPG game but not much of a stand-out.

FINAL VERDICT: This short does the simplest style of animation, story, characters and music but sometimes using what you got to make the best anime short doesn’t make you cheap. It’s simple but it is a good anime short to watch.  Would I recommend this to you? Yes, I would

 

URSA Minor Blue gets their score of

8/10

Planet Tyro rating: Solid B..

 

Finally, we jumped enough places until we arrived at Durban and we split up to cover more ground to find Ani and can only contact via walkie-talkie in case something happens. We all searched and look in the phone books for her real name and ask people who know her to figure out where she lives….but since 4 Americans asking for a girl’s address for somebody we only knew once seems a bit suspicious for people but I guess we have something that shouts “TRUST US!”

Meanwhile, Ani was just getting home to her place and she noticed that her door was slightly ajar and of course, she was packing and walk inside and then as she looked around the area for any intruders and still no sign of anyone…until she turn around and notice that I came around and she was irritated at first that I broke into her apartment and almost could’ve shot me but she did welcome me, I told her about the clone that the Anime Gods created and he put out a hit list on us and told her to get ready to plan an attack.

But what she doesn’t know that the real me and the rest of the crew was still searching for her and we reach to her place 30 minutes later. While at there, she was changing into new clothes and “I” was searching around for something and then….you know what? Yes, that person masquerading as me is the clone and it looks like we are a bit too late as the Clone was about to barge into Ani’s room while she was still changing and as he did, I grab an chain and began to wrap it around his neck and kick the shit out of him but grab the chain and started to whip me with the chain and Jumper grab the gun and pistol-whipped the clone but it seems that he wasn’t that much of an easy feat and snatch the gun and pistol-whipped Jumper and Paradox and then Disc…I mean, Batmare lay down some smoke pellets and Ani grab some nightvision goggles and find the exit and getting the guys round up and the right version of me together and all of us run out of there quickly and then…we jumped out of that spot and transported into…….

 

AND THIS IS WHERE THE STORY ENDS AND USUALLY I TELL YOU WHAT ANIME I’M GOING TO REVIEW NEXT AND THAT IS COMING UP BUT THE NEXT TIME WILL BE A 2-PARTER SPECIAL WHICH THE STORY AND THE SELECTED ANIME COVERS BOUNTY HUNTERS  AND THE NEXT 3 SHOWS FOR THAT ARE….

TRIGUN / TRIGUN: BADLANDS RUMBLE

 

 

 

 

DAPHNE IN THE BRILLIANT BLUE

 

 

 

And until then, I’m MAK2.0 aka HybridMedia, bringing all the elements in one format.

 

URSA MINOR BLUE – courtesy of Tamura Shigeru Studio

Leave a Reply

