Marvel’s The Avengers (or EVERY MOTHERFUCKER ASSEMBLE!!!) Review

ORIGINAL DATE: May 5, 2012

 

First, Iron Man, The Incredible Hulk, Iron Man 2, Thor, Captain America: The First Avenger and now……..the moment who have been waiting for since 2008 (mostly the ending of the first Iron Man), out comes Marvel’s The Avengers finally arriving 4 years later and with all the hype surrounding it and one of the most anticipated summer movies out this year.

 

Now here’s the plot of the movie:

When an unexpected enemy (and by unexpected, we mean Loki, which is obvious if you saw Thor) emerges that threatens global safety and security, Nick Fury, Director of the international peacekeeping agency known as S.H.I.E.L.D., finds himself in need of a team (Iron Man, The Incredible Hulk, Thor, Captain America, Hawkeye and Black Widow) to pull the world back from the brink of disaster. Spanning the globe, a daring recruitment effort begins and at first, the team doesn’t get along at first, which is pretty normal for a team is assembled but as you may know, they do eventually wise up and team up to stop Loki from taking over the world.

 

Now the plot may seem like the basic “take-over-the-world” storyline used all over again in mostly every movie you see and here’s the difference between those movies and this one:

 

IT WORKED.

 

 

As in…….when I came out of that theater as the whole movie ended (stay for the post-credit scene after they ended), I came out with a smile and a shit-eating grin on my face.

 

You know what, yes, I really loved this movie.

 

I never felt bored during this movie and the pacing of it was adequately great; it’s not too long and not too short and it leaves you wanting for more or it makes you want to see the movie again.

 

 

 

Robert Downey Jr. as Iron Man was still excellent as he ever was and he really brought the humor in this as well as the rest of the cast and can maintain without being overbearing. Chris Evans still continues to impress with him as Captain America since him being the level-headed member of the team and him being that role matured not only the character but the actor himself considering the past roles Evans has been in. Chris Hemsworth as Thor is entertaining as ever and that is all. I know many people that are concern with Mark Ruffalo replacing Edward Norton as the Hulk but for me, I never cared for both past Hulk movies that much but here, you do not want to fuck with The Hulk when he’s angry…..ever.  As for Scarlett Johannson as Black Widow…. (drools and staring at her endlessly)….oh yeah, she was decent, too. Same as Tom Hiddleston as Loki, since he went from whiny brother God onto whiny brother God that can kick and kill you.

The supporting characters have little to no flaws here from Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury, Clark Gregg as Agent Phil Coulson, Jeremy Renner (who wants to be in everything lately, seriously, isn’t he the next Jason Bourne or something) as Hawkeye & Cobie Smulders as Agent Maria Hill. Must…..resist……How I Met Your Mother reference……seems too corny to mention.

 

Anyway, the action scenes kept me satisfied, the humor in this movie will keep you laughing at the appropriate timing, although some of it is off. If you have seen the past Marvel movies, the character development and establishment of the main heroes has already been put off there but if you haven’t seen them, I suggest you watch them before watching this movie, although I really don’t care that much for The Incredible Hulk, so yeah, that’s that.

 

FINAL VERDICT: See this movie no matter what. I’m not joking about that. This is one of the best summer movies of the season and I don’t go into the theaters that much nowadays. Joss Whedon, whose material I never seen but I heard some good and bad things about him (I’ll try to see Cabin in the Woods one of these days), really brought his A-Game to the screen and I applaud him for that. I have never been so happy and joyous ever in my life.

 

Oh, and before I do my final score, people will wonder when The Dark Knight Rises comes to theaters, will it overshadow them? Well, like Iron Man & The Dark Knight, these movies have very different tones in every setting. Iron Man has this light-hearted superhero atmosphere and The Dark Knight has the dark epic ominous atmosphere and yet, I love both movies because of their difference. I don’t know how The Dark Knight Rises will turn out to be, but since Christoper Nolan never made a movie that irks me the wrong way, I have some faith in him, but like I said for The Avengers, this is a great movie for everyone to see.

 

And yes, I will give The Avengers=

10/10 – Better Than Sex!!!

 

Because once you leave the movie theater, you swear you’ll need a cigarette after that, even if you don’t smoke……and no, I don’t smoke.

 

This has been MAK2.0 aka HybridMedia, bringing all the heroes to assemble and kick some ass.

 

SPILLIOS ASSEMBLE!!!

 

MARVEL’S THE AVENGERS – courtesy of Marvel Studios/Paramount Pictures.

Leave a Reply

